Miami's Scott Voted ACC Defensive Player of the Year

March 12, 2013

LEWISVILLE, NC (ACSMA) – Miami’s Durand Scott has been named as the 2012-13 Atlantic Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year, in voting conducted by members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Scott (1.6 steals per game, 3rd in ACC) received 23 of the 77 votes cast to edge out Hurricane teammate Shane Larkin, who received 21 votes.

Miami head coach Jim Larranaga said, “Durand Scott is one of the greatest competitors I've ever been around and you really see that on the defensive end of the floor. He takes great pride in guarding the other team's best player on the perimeter. He takes great pride in playing harder than anybody else. I am so proud to be able to say that I coached Durand Scott for two years.”

Florida State’s Michael Snaer finished third in the voting with seven votes, while Duke’s Mason Plumlee received six. Jontel Evans of Virginia, Julian Gamble of Miami and NC State’s Richard Howell each received four votes.

The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association is an organization of journalists dedicated to fostering a mutually beneficial relationship between the news media and the institutions and administration of the Atlantic Coast Conference.

ACC Defensive Player of the Year Voting
Durand Scott, Miami (23)
Shane Larkin, Miami (21)
Michael Snaer, Florida State (7)
Mason Plumlee, Duke (6)
Jontel Evans, Virginia (4)
Julian Gamble, Miami (4)
Richard Howell, N.C. State (4)
Akil Mitchell, Virginia (2)
Alex Len, Maryland (1)
Erick Green, Virginia Tech (1)
James Michael McAdoo, North Carolina (1)
Kenny Kadji, Miami (1)
KJ McDaniels, Clemson (1)
Lorenzo Brown, NC State (1)

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
2013: Durand Scott, Miami
2012: John Henson, North Carolina
2011: John Henson, North Carolina
2010: Chris Singleton, Florida State
2009: Toney Douglas, Florida State
2008: DeMarcus Nelson, Duke
2007: Jamon Gordon, Virginia Tech
2006: Shelden Williams, Duke