Duke's Plumlee Leads Voting for All-ACC First Team

March 11, 2013

LEWISVILLE, NC (ACSMA) – Duke’s Mason Plumlee led a close vote for the 2012-13 All-ACC basketball first team, as determined by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. Plumlee (73 1st-place votes, 226 points) finished second among ACC players in scoring average, rebound average and field goal percentage, in leading Duke to a 27-4 record. He is joined on the first team by the ACC’s leading scorer, Erick Green of Virginia Tech (72 1st-place votes, 225 points), Miami’s Shane Larkin (72 1st-place votes, 224 points), Virginia’s Joe Harris (67 1st-place votes, 219 points) and NC State’s Richard Howell (46 1st-place votes, 192 points).

Larkin’s 13.7 points, 4.4 assists and suffocating defense helped lead the Hurricanes to their first-ever ACC regular season championship. Harris is averaging 17.0 ppg overall and 18.4 ppg in ACC play. Howell led the ACC in rebounding (11.4 rpg in ACC games), as NC State finished 22-9 (11-7, ACC).

Duke’s Seth Curry (178 points), Miami’s Kenny Kadji (131 points) and NC State’s Lorenzo Brown (122 points) lead the Second Team, along with North Carolina players Reggie Bullock (119 points) and James Michael McAdoo (97).

The third team features Florida State’s Michael Snaer (93 points), NC State’s CJ Leslie (80 points), Boston College’s Ryan Anderson (46 points), Duke’s Quinn Cook (43 points), Clemson’s Devin Booker (43 points) and Virginia’s Akil Mitchell (43 points).

Receiving honorable mention were: Durand Scott (Miami), P.J. Hairston (UNC), C.J. Harris and Travis McKie (Wake Forest), Ryan Kelly (Duke), Olivier Hanlan (Boston College) and Alex Len (Maryland).

The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association is an organization of journalists dedicated to fostering a mutually beneficial relationship between the news media and the institutions and administration of the Atlantic Coast Conference.

The all-Atlantic Coast Conference men's basketball teams, as announced Monday following a vote of 77 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Assocaition, with voting results in parentheses.


First Team
Mason Plumlee, Duke (226)
Erick Green, Virginia Tech (225)
Shane Larkin, Miami (224)
Joe Harris, Virginia (219)
Richard Howell, NC State (192)

Second Team
Seth Curry, Duke (178)
Kenny Kadji, Miami (131)
Lorenzo Brown, NC State (122)
Reggie Bullock, North Carolina (119)
James Michael McAdoo, North Carolina (97)

Third Team
Michael Snaer, Florida State (93)
C.J. Leslie, NC State (80)
Ryan Anderson, Boston College (46)
Akil Mitchell, Virginia (43)
Devin Booker, Clemson (43)
Quinn Cook, Duke (43)

Honorable Mention
Durand Scott, Miami (39); P.J. Hairston, North Carolina (30); C.J. Harris, Wake Forest (27); Alex Len, Maryland (19); Olivier Hanlan, Boston College (13); Travis McKie, Wake Forest (13); Ryan Kelly, Duke (12); Okaro White, Florida State (6); Scott Wood, N.C. State (5); Dez Wells, Maryland (4); Devin Thomas, Wake Forest (1); Julian Gamble, Miami (1); T.J. Warren, NC State (1)