North Carolina's Tyler Zeller Named Recipient of the ACC's Skip Prosser Award

March 9, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. - University of North Carolina forward Tyler Zeller has been named the recipient of the 2012 Skip Prosser Award, emblematic of the top scholar-athlete in men's basketball, ACC Commissioner John Swofford announced today.

The senior business administration major from Washington, Ind., becomes the first multiple winner of the citation, which the ACC created in 2007 to honor the memory of George Edward "Skip" Prosser. Prosser compiled a 291-146 career record in 14 seasons as a head coach, including a 126-68 mark in his six years with the Demon Deacons.

The 2003 ACC Coach of the Year, Prosser won 20 plus games and led Wake Forest to the NCAA Tournament in each of his first four seasons in Winston-Salem and brought the school its first outright ACC regular season title in 2003. Every Wake Forest senior he coached graduated, and the Deacons placed nine players on the annual All-ACC Academic Basketball Team during his tenure.

use for highlights on w/ Havoline preroll

In order to be nominated for the award, a student-athlete must be an upperclassman with a grade-point average of 3.0 or better - both in his career and in the previous two semesters. Sixty percent of the award is based on academic achievement and 40 percent on athletic accomplishments.

Zeller, a four-time member of the All-ACC Academic Team, earned Academic All-America honors from the College Sports Information Directors of America in each of the past two years and last month was chosen the CoSIDA Academic All-America of the Year for men's basketball.

record and their 29th ACC regular season championship, including 19 titles outright. He currently ranks second in the ACC in rebounds (9.3), fifth in scoring (16.3) and second in field goal percentage (.549).

Clemson guard Cliff Hammonds (2008), Miami guard Jack McClinton (2009) and Virginia center Jerome Meyinsse (2010) were the first three recipients of the award. Zeller was the Prosser recipient in 2011.