Terrapins' Williams Named ACC Coach of the Year

March 9, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- Gary Williams, whose Maryland Terrapins exceeded expectations and wound up sharing the ACC's regular-season title, has been named ACC Coach of the Year in voting by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Williams received 42 of the 53 votes cast. Duke's Mike Krzyzewski was the choice of eight electors and Virginia Tech's Seth Greenberg (two) and Florida State's Leonard Hamilton (one) were also acknowledged.

The citation is the second at the league level for Williams, who won in 2002 en route to guiding the Terrapins to the NCAA championship. His 441 wins rank him third in league history for total victories at a member institution. Steady progress has marked the current Terrapin team, which lost to Wisconsin and Cincinnati in the Maui Invitational and was once presumed to be a middle-of-the-pack team in the ACC. Preseason media voting labeled them fifth in the 12-team league.

But as freshman center Jordan Williams matured and ACC Player of the Year Greivis Vasquez continued his all-around season, the Terrapins identified themselves as contenders. Their double-overtime win at Virginia Tech on Feb. 27 gave them a shot at a share of the regular-season title, and they delivered with a home win over Duke and a Senior Day triumph at Virginia.

The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association is an organization of journalists dedicated to fostering a mutually beneficial relationship between the news media and the institutions and admini-stration of the Atlantic Coast Conference. The group casts officially recognized votes for All-ACC teams in football and men's basketball and serves as a liaison to decision-makers.

Coach Votes
Gary Williams, Maryland 42
Mike Krzyzewski, Duke 8
Seth Greenberg, VT 2
Leonard Hamilton, FSU 1