UNC's Henson Repeats As Top Defensive Player

March 6, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. (ACSMA) — North Carolina center John Henson, whose combination of shot-blocking and rebounding efficiency keyed the Tar Heels’ regular-season conference title, has repeated as ACC Defensive Player of the Year and has become the second multiple winner of the eight-year-old award.

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
2012: John Henson, North Carolina
2011: John Henson, North Carolina
2010: Chris Singleton, Florida State
2009: Toney Douglas, Florida State
2008: DeMarcus Nelson, Duke
2007: Jamon Gordon, Virginia Tech
2006:Shelden Williams, Duke
2005: Shelden Williams, Duke

The 6-foot-11 junior from Tampa, Fla., leads the league in re-bounds (10.3) and rejections (3.0) per game and has collected nearly 25 percent of the defensive boards potentially available to him. The latter figure is second in the ACC and among the nation’s top 35, and it helps explain why he has personally accounted for 28 percent of his team’s defensive boards in conference play.

The Tar Heel team is outrebounding its opposition by 11.3 per contest; if maintained throughout the season, that figure will be the largest by an ACC team since South Carolina posted a plus-13 in 1970.

Henson received 56 of 62 votes cast in balloting by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. Virginia guard Jontel Evans and Florida State guard Michael Snaer received three votes each.

Duke’s Shelden Williams won the first two Defensive Player of the Year awards in 2005 and 2006.

The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association is an organization of journalists dedicated to fostering a mutually beneficial relationship between the news media and the institutions and administration of the Atlantic Coast Conference. The group serves as a liaison to decision-makers.