The ACC Digital Network's Dunkuary Final 16 Bracket Announced

Feb. 27, 2013

Charlotte, NC: The ACC Digital Network, brought to you by Ruby Tuesday, announces the Final 16 Bracket for #Dunkuary, a month-long competition that began on February 11 with the goal of empowering fans to determine the best dunk in ACC history. Beginning today, the winning Dunkuary nominee from each of the 12 member schools and four wildcards will begin to compete for fan votes as they go through each round. The wildcards were hand selected by Jeff Fischel, host of the ACC Digital Network.

"Our ACC fans are smart hoops people," said Jeff Fischel. "They did a great job in round one of Dunkuary, but now the voting moves faster, and the decisions will be tougher. I can't wait to see what happens."

The first round of the top 16 has a variety of great dunks spanning the years, including two matchups of dunks 16 years apart. Making it even more interesting are the recent dunk nominees, including a current player, who will go up against historic greats such as Michael Jordan, Len Bias and Gene Banks.

"I am humbled to have one of my dunks selected for this competition," said K.J. McDaniels of Clemson University, the only current player nominee. "The Atlantic Coast Conference has such a prestigious history of great athletes and dunkers, and it's an honor to even be mentioned in the same breath as some of them."

The complete lineup for the Round of 16 includes: (# indicates each dunk's seeding)

#1 Vince Carter-UNC '96 v. #16 Gene Banks-Duke `80
#2 Dahntay Jones-Duke '03 v. #15 Mustapha Farrakhan-UVa '10
#3 Michael Jordan-UNC '84 v. #14 Corey Raji-BC '10
#4 Dequan Jones-Miami '09 v. #13 Steve Francis-Maryland '99
#5 Ishma'il Muhammad-GT '06 v. #12 Alexander Johnson-FSU '06
#6 Deron Washington-VT '08 v. #11 Gavin Grant-NC State '07
#7 Damon Thornton-NC State '00 v. #10 Len Bias-Maryland `86
#8 K.J. McDaniels-Clemson '13 v. #9 Jeff Teague-WF '09

Fans may view the full Round of 16 #Dunkuary bracket and vote for their favorite dunk on

Voting schedule is as follows:
Round of 16 Begins: February 27, 2013 noon ET Ends: March 1, 2013 9 am ET
Quarterfinals Begins: March 1, 2013 noon ET Ends: March 4, 2013 9 am ET
Semifinals Begins: March 4, 2013 noon ET Ends: March 7, 2013 9 am ET
Championship Begins: March 7, 2013 noon ET Ends: March 11, 2013 9 am ET

The results of each Dunkuary round and the winners that advance to the next round will be revealed during the ACC Digital Network's live daily show, ACC Live. On Monday, March 11 at noon ET, the ACC Digital Network will feature a special edition of ACC Live with a Dunkuary All-Time Best Dunk in ACC History Announcement Show.

The ACC Digital Network (ACCDN) is a joint venture between Silver Chalice, a fast-growing digital sports and entertainment media firm and Raycom Sports, a long-time television producer and partner of the Atlantic Coast Conference. The television-quality, cross-platform digital video network covers the spectrum of one of the nation's top intercollegiate athletic conferences, featuring both live programming and original on-demand content throughout the entire year. For more information visit, or subscribe to

The Atlantic Coast Conference, now in its 60th year of competition, has long enjoyed the reputation as one of the strongest and most competitive intercollegiate conferences in the nation. Since the league's inception in 1953, ACC schools have captured 127 national championships, including 67 in women's competition and 60 in men's. In addition, NCAA individual titles have gone to ACC student-athletes 146 times in men's competition and 102 times in women's action. For more information, visit