Six ACC Student-Athletes Among Naismith Trophy Midseason Candidates

Feb. 25, 2010


ATLANTA ( – Six ACC student-athletes are among the 30 student-athletes looking to win the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T after the midseason team was announced Wednesday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

2010 Naismith Men’s Mid-Season Candidates from the ACC


Name School Position Class
Al-Farouq Aminu Wake Forest Forward Sophomore
Trevor Booker Clemson Forward Senior
Sylven Landesberg Virginia Guard Sophomore
Gani Lawal Georgia Tech Forward Junior
Jon Scheyer Duke Guard Senior
Greivis Vasquez Maryland Guard Senior


The top 30 midseason men’s list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season.

The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national basketball award and is given annually to the men’s college basketball player of the year. This year, the award will be presented at the NCAA Men’s Final Four in Indianapolis.

Beginning March 22, AT&T wireless customers — and sports fans on other wireless networks — will be able to text their votes for the player of their choice. Fans will be eligible to cast their vote for the winner until 11:59 p.m. EDT on Saturday, April 3, 2010. AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers, allowing even more fans to participate. Other wireless carriers must opt-in for their subscribers to participate. Standard messaging rates apply.

CBS Sports’ “AT&T at the Half” features a weekly Naismith Trophy Watch, highlighting the men’s players in contention for the coveted award who have distinguished themselves throughout the season. On March 21, CBS will announce the four Naismith Trophy finalists during its first-round coverage of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.