ACC Announces the 2013 Men's Basketball Tournament Legends

Jan. 31, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- The former Commissioner of the ACC and past member of the NCAA Men's Basketball Committee, a pair of highly successful head coaches and one of the only four ACC players who earned first- or second-team All-ACC honors in four consecutive seasons headline the 2013 ACC Men's Basketball Legends Class announced Thursday by ACC Commissioner John Swofford.

Included on the team are a member of the ACC's 50th Anniversary basketball team, six All-Americas, three All-ACC selections, six NBA Draft selections, four players who led their teams to five ACC Championships and two former successful coaches, including one who led Maryland to the 2002 National Championship.

Leading the way is former ACC Commissioner Gene Corrigan (Keswick, Va.), who served on the NCAA's Men's Basketball Committee and oversaw the ACC for a 10-year period when the conference captured three NCAA Men's Basketball Championships and saw 11 teams earn berths to the NCAA's Final Four. Corrigan is a being honored as an ACC Legend this year as the ACC Men's Basketball Tournament celebrates its 60th anniversary.

Also leading the way are former Georgia Tech All-America point guard Mark Price (Enid, Okla.), who was the focal point of the resurgence of the Bobby Cremins-coached Georgia Tech teams of the mid-1980's; former Maryland head coach Gary Williams (Collingswood, N.J.), who led the Terrapins to the 2002 National Championships and to 14 NCAA Tournament appearances in his 22 seasons at College Park; and "Gentleman" Carl Tacy (Huttonsville, W. Va.), who coached Wake Forest to six post-season appearances and 222 victories in his 13 seasons at the helm in Winston-Salem and led Wake to the NCAA Elite Eight in 1977 and the NCAA Sweet Sixteen in 1984.

Joining them are Boston College's Gerry Ward (Bronx, N.Y.) who completed his career as the Eagles' 3rd-leading career scorer while playing for coaches Don Martin and Frank Power; Clemson's Terrell McIntyre (Raeford, N.C.), a prolific point guard for the Tigers who three times earned All-ACC honors; Duke's Trajan Langdon (Anchorage, Alaska), one of the key cogs of the Blue Devils 1999 team which advanced to the NCAA national championship game and who was one of the most effective long-range shooters and free throw shooters in league history; Florida State's Tharon Mayes (New Haven, Conn.), who helped lead Florida State to its first back-to-back NCAA Tournament appearances for then coach Pat Kennedy; and Miami's Mike Wittman (St. Joseph's, Michigan), who was a high-scoring forward for the record-setting Miami teams of the mid 1960's.

Completing this year's ACC Legends Class are North Carolina's Mike O'Koren (Jersey City, N.J.), one of the most versatile players in Tar Heel history who helped lead the Dean-Smith coached teams to four NCAA appearances and ACC Championships in 1977 and 1979; NC State's Dereck Whittenburg (Washington, D.C), the author of the most famous pass/shot in NCAA Tournament history and a key member of the Jim Valvano-coached 1983 National Championship squad; Virginia's Travis Watson (Brookneal, Va.), a versatile forward who helped lead the Cavaliers to four consecutive post-season tournament appearances; and Virginia Tech's Ace Custis (Eastville, Va.), a versatile forward who led the Hokies to the Championship of the 1995 NIT and an appearance in the 1996 NCAA Tournament.

The Legends will be honored at this year's ACC's Men's Basketball Tournament at the Greensboro Coliseum in Greensboro, N.C., March 14-17. They will be feted at the annual ACC Legends Brunch, which will be held Saturday, March 16, beginning at 10 a.m. in the Guilford Ballroom of the Sheraton Four Seasons Hotel, and, later that day, will be introduced to the Greensboro Coliseum crowd at halftime of the first semifinal game. Ticket information for the ACC Legends Brunch is available on the ACC website at

LEGENDS BRUNCH The Legends will be honored at this year's ACC Men's Basketball Tournament in Greensboro at the annual ACC Basketball Legends Brunch, which will be held on Saturday, March 16, beginning at 10 a.m. at the Sheraton Four Seasons Hotel. Hosted by television personalities Tim Brant and Mike Hogewood, tickets for the ACC Men's Basketball Legends Brunch are priced at $35 each and tables of ten are available for $350 each. Information on purchasing tickets may be obtained at the official ACC

Click on a legend name below to view his bio page
Name School Years Position Hometown (Current Hometown)
Gene Corrigan ACC 1987-97 Commissioner Baltimore, Md. (Keswick, Va.)
Gerry Ward Boston College 1961-63 Forward Bronx, N.Y. (Ridgefield, Conn.)
Terrell McIntyre Clemson 1995-99 Guard Raeford, N.C. (Charlotte, N.C.)
Trajan Langdon Duke 1994-99 Guard Anchorage, Alaska (Arlington, Va.)
Tharon Mayes Florida State 1988-90 Guard New Haven, Conn. (same)
Mark Price Georgia Tech 1982-86 Guard Enid, Okla. (Orlando, Fla.)
Gary Williams Maryland 1964-67 Guard Collingswood, N.J. (Bethesda. Md.)
1990-2011 Head Coach
Mike Wittman Miami 1964-67 Forward (St. Joseph, Mich.)
Mike O'Koren North Carolina 1976-80 Forward Jersey City, N.J.(Township of Washington, N.J.)
Dereck Whittenburg NC State 1979-83 Guard Washington, D.C. (New York, N.Y.)
Travis Watson Virginia 1999-03 Forward Brookneal, Va. (Alexandria, Va.)
Ace Custis Virginia Tech 1993-97 Forward Eastville, Va. (Suffolk, Va.)
Carl Tacy Wake Forest 1973-85 Head Coach Huttonsville, W.Va.(Winston-Salem, N.C.)