Ten from ACC Named to Louisville Slugger Preseason All-America Baseball Team

Dec. 21, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Ten student-athletes from Atlantic Coast Conference schools have been named to the 2012 Louisville Slugger Preseason All-America Baseball Team, as selected by Collegiate Baseball Newspaper.

Virginia pitcher Branden Kline was named to the second team, along with Florida State second baseman Devon Travis and outfielder James Ramsey, Miami catcher Peter O’Brien and North Carolina third baseman Colin Moran.

Third-team selections included Miami pitcher Eric Whaley, Georgia Tech pitcher Buck Farmer, North Carolina pitchers Kent Emanuel and Michael Morin, and Virginia Tech outfielder Andrew Rash.

Working out of the bullpen last season, Virginia’s Kline posted a 4-1 record and 1.88 ERA while saving 18 games as the Cavaliers claimed the ACC championship and earned their second College World Series berth in three years. Florida State’s Travis helped the Seminoles to the 2011 ACC Atlantic Division crown by batting .329 with six homers and 33 RBI. Ramsey batted .364 with 10 home runs and 67 RBI while stealing 11 bases. O’Brien transferred to Miami after three seasons at Bethune-Cookman, where as a junior he hit .304 with 14 home runs and 69 RBI. North Carolina’s Moran earned ACC Freshman of the Year honors while batting .335 with nine homes and 71 RBI and keying the Tar Heels to a spot in the 2011 College World Series.

Miami’s Whaley posted a 7-5 record with a 2.70 ERA in 16 starts last season. Georgia Tech’s Farmer went 11-3 while posting a 2.91 ERA and ranked among the conference leader in strikeouts with 106. North Carolina’s Emanuel was 9-1 with a 2.33 ERA, including a shutout of Texas in the CWS. Morin worked both as a starter and out of the bullpen for the Tar Heels while posting a 4-2 record and an ERA of 4.64 with 10 saves. Virginia Tech’s Rash led the ACC in home runs with 18 while batting .335.

The 2012 college baseball season gets under way Feb. 17, with all 12 ACC teams scheduled to be in action. Fourteen ACC teams have reached the College World Series since 2006, and six conference schools are nationally ranked entering this season.