Five ACC Teams to Host 2011 #NCAA Baseball Regionals

May 29, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Atlantic Coast Conference representatives Virginia (48-9), Florida State (42-16), Clemson (41-18), Georgia Tech (40-19) and North Carolina (45-14) will be five of the 16 host teams for the NCAA Division I Baseball Regionals, which will be held at campus sites June 3-6. Please see below for the complete NCAA release.

The complete, 64-team field for the 2011 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship will be announced at 12:30 p.m. on Monday and will be televised by ESPN.

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 65th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship. The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records (through May 28) are as follows:

• Atlanta - Georgia Tech (40-19)
• Austin, Texas - Texas (43-15)
• Fullerton, California - *Cal State Fullerton (39-15)
• Chapel Hill, North Carolina - North Carolina (45-14)
• Charlottesville, Virginia - *Virginia (48-9)
• Clemson, South Carolina - Clemson (41-18)
• College Station, Texas - *Texas A&M (41-18)
• Columbia, South Carolina - South Carolina (45-14)
• Corvallis, Oregon - *Oregon State (38-16)
• Fort Worth, Texas - TCU (42-17)
• Gainesville, Florida - *Florida (44-16)
• Houston - Rice (41-19)
• Los Angeles - *UCLA (33-21)
• Nashville, Tennessee - *Vanderbilt (47-9)
• Tallahassee, Florida - *Florida State (42-16)
• Tempe, Arizona - *Arizona State (38-16)
*Teams that are playing today (Sunday, May 29).

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team field.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 3 to Monday, June 6.

Three institutions are hosting for the 20th time or more as Florida State leads the list of schools with 28. Texas is hosting for the 26th time, while this will be the 21st time that Arizona State has hosted a regional. Clemson and South Carolina are hosting for 13th time. Georgia Tech (11th), Cal St. Fullerton (10th) and Florida (10th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Rice is hosting for the ninth time, while Texas A&M is hosting a regional for the seventh time and North Carolina for the sixth time. Virginia is hosting for the fifth time, while Oregon State, TCU and UCLA are hosting for a third time. Rounding out the list is Vanderbilt, hosting for only the second time.

Nine institutions (Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Florida, Georgia Tech, South Carolina, Texas, TCU, UCLA and Virginia) also hosted in 2010.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at 12:30 p.m. Eastern time, Monday, May 30. The half-hour program will be shown live on ESPNHD. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 6 at approximately 11 p.m. ET.

There are 30 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 65th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at the new TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.