Seven ACC Baseball Teams Earn Spots in 2012 NCAA Championship

May 28, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Seven Atlantic Coast Conference teams - including two of the of the top six national seeds - will be among the 64-team field when the 2012 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship gets under way with Regional play on Friday. Atlantic Division champion Florida State earned the No. 3 overall seed, while Coastal Division champion North Carolina is seeded sixth nationally.

Florida State (43-15), Miami (36-21), North Carolina (44-14), NC State (39-17) and Virginia (38-17-1) were named as Regional host schools by the NCAA on Sunday, giving the ACC a national-best five Regional hosts. Each of those teams will be seeded No. 1 in their brackets. Georgia Tech (36-24) earned an automatic NCAA berth by virtue of winning the ACC Championship on Sunday, assuring the conference of at least six teams in the field before the remainder of the bracket was announced.

Clemson (33-26) was announced as an at-large selection on Monday, giving the ACC seven teams among this year’s field. Clemson will open play as the No. 2 seed in the Columbia, S.C., Regional hosted by two-time defending NCAA champion South Carolina, while Georgia Tech will compete as the No. 2 seed in the Gainesville, Fla., Regional hosted by No. 1 national seed Florida.

The seven ACC teams in this year’s field rank second nationally and continues a recent trend of strong showings by the conference in NCAA baseball selections. The ACC placed a league-record eight teams in the 2010 NCAA Championship and saw seven teams make the field in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011. This marks the ninth straight year that at least six ACC teams have been selected for NCAA postseason play and the 11th consecutive year that at least five conference teams have been chosen.

The other top-eight national seeds in this year's field are No. 1 Florida, No. 2 UCLA, No. 4 Baylor, No. 5 Oregon, No. 7 LSU and No. 8 South Carolina.

Miami is in the field for the 40th consecutive year, extending its own national record. Florida State is making its 35th straight appearance, second all-time. Those are the nation's two current longest streaks, with Cal-State Fullerton's 21 straight appearances ranking third.

Among other ACC teams, Clemson will make its 25th NCAA appearance in 26 years. Georgia Tech is in the NCAA tournament for the fifth straight year, but the Yellow Jackets have appeared in 26 of the last 28 tournaments overall.

North Carolina is making its 11th straight NCAA appearance and 14th in15 years. Virginia will make its ninth straight NCAA appearance. NC State will appear in its third straight NCAA tournament and its ninth in 10 years.

Total NCAA postseason appearances (counting this season) for this year's ACC participating teams are as follows: Florida State 50, Miami 41, Clemson 37, Georgia Tech 28, North Carolina 27, NC State 25 and Virginia 12.

NCAA Regionals, which will consist of four-team double-elimination tournaments at 16 campus sites, will get under way Friday (June 1) and run through Monday (June 4) as necessary. The eight regional winners will advance to Super Regional play, again at campus sites, June 8-11. Those eight winners will then move on the 66th Men's College World Series, set for June 15-25/26 at Omaha, Neb.

Regional match-ups involving ACC teams are listed below, followed by the other regional sites:

2012 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship

Chapel Hill Regional hosted by North Carolina
#1 North Carolina (44-14) vs. #4 Cornell (31-15-1)
#2 East Carolina (35-22-1) vs. #3 St. John’s (NY) (37-21)

Charlottesville Regional hosted by Virginia
#1 Virginia (38-17-1) vs. #4 Army (41-13)
#2 Oklahoma (38-22) vs. #3 Appalachian St. (39-16)

Columbia Regional hosted by South Carolina
#1 South Carolina (40-17) vs. #4 Manhattan (33-25)
#2 Clemson (33-26) vs. #3 Coastal Caro. (41-17)

Coral Gables Regional hosted by Miami
#1 Miami (FL) (36-21) vs. #4 Stony Brook (46-11)
#2 UCF (43-15) vs. #3 Missouri St. (39-20)

Gainesville Regional hosted by Florida
#1 Florida (42-18) vs. #4 Bethune-Cookman (34-25)
#2 Georgia Tech (36-24) vs. #3 Col. of Charleston (37-20)

Raleigh Regional hosted by NC State
#1 NC State (39-17) vs. #4 Sacred Heart (25-30)
#2 Vanderbilt (33-26) vs. #3 UNC Wilmington (38-21)

Tallahassee Regional hosted by Florida State
#1 Florida St. (43-15) vs. #4 UAB (32-28)
#2 Mississippi St. (39-22) vs. #3 Samford (39-21)

Baton Rouge Regional hosted by LSU
#1 LSU (43-16) vs. #4 La.-Monroe (31-28)
#2 Oregon St. (38-18) vs. #3 Belmont (39-22)

College Station Regional hosted by Texas A&M
#1 Texas A&M (42-16) vs. #4 Dayton (31-28)
#2 TCU (36-19) vs. #3 Ole Miss (35-24)

Eugene Regional hosted by Oregon
#1 Oregon (42-17) vs. #4 Austin Peay (38-22)
#2 Cal St. Fullerton (35-19) vs. #3 Indiana St. (41-17)

Gary Regional hosted by Purdue
#1 Purdue (44-12) vs. #4 Valparaiso (35-23)
#2 Kentucky (43-16) vs. #3 Kent St. (41-17)

Houston Regional hosted by Rice
#1 Rice (40-17) vs. #4 Prairie View (28-23)
#2 Arkansas (39-19) vs. #3 Sam Houston St. (38-20)

Los Angeles Regional hosted by UCLA
#1 UCLA (42-14) vs. #4 Creighton (26-28)
#2 San Diego (40-15) vs. #3 New Mexico (36-22)

Palo Alto Regional hosted by Stanford
#1 Stanford (38-16) vs. #4 Fresno St. (30-26)
#2 Pepperdine (34-21) vs. #3 Michigan St. (37-21)

Tucson Regional hosted by Arizona
#1 Arizona (38-17) vs. #4 Missouri (32-26)
#2 New Mexico St. (35-22) vs. #3 Louisville (39-20)

Waco Regional hosted by Baylor
#1 Baylor (44-14) vs. #4 Oral Roberts (37-23)
#2 Dallas Baptist (39-17) vs. #3 Texas-Arlington (36-23)