Eight ACC Teams To Participate In 2013 NCAA Baseball Championship

May 27, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. - A league record-tying eight Atlantic Coast Conference teams - including three of the of the eight national seeds - will be among the 64-team field when the 2013 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship gets under way with Regional play on Friday.

ACC Champion North Carolina was awarded the No. 1 overall seed. Virginia earned a No. 6 national seeding, while ACC Atlantic Division champion Florida State is seeded seventh nationally.

North Carolina (52-8), Virginia (47-10), NC State (44-14), Florida State (44-15) and Virginia Tech (38-20) were named as Regional host schools by the NCAA on Sunday, giving the ACC a national-best number of Regional hosts and assuring the conference of at least five teams in the field before the remainder of the bracket was announced. Each of those teams will be seeded No. 1 in their respective brackets.

Clemson (39-20), Georgia Tech (34-25) and Miami (36-23) were announced as at-large selections on Monday, giving the ACC eight teams among this year's field.

Clemson will open play as the No. 2 seed in the Columbia, S.C., Regional hosted by South Carolina for the second straight year. Georgia Tech earned the No. 2 seed in the Nashville Regional hosted by Vanderbilt, while Miami is seeded second in the regional being hosted by future ACC member Louisville.

The total of eight ACC teams in this year's field ranks second nationally, while the 66.7 percent of conference teams selected (8-of-12) ranks first. It continues a trend of strong showings by the conference in NCAA baseball selections. The ACC also placed eight teams in the 2010 NCAA Championship and saw seven teams make the field in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011 and 2012. This marks the 10th straight year that at least six ACC teams have been selected for NCAA postseason play and the 11th consecutive year that at least five conference teams have been chosen.

The other top-eight national seeds in this year's field are No. 2 Vanderbilt, No. 3 Oregon State, No. 4 LSU, No. 5 Cal State-Fullerton and No. 8 Oregon.

Miami is in the field for the 41st consecutive year, extending its own national record. Florida State is making its 36th straight appearance, second all-time. Those are the nation's two current longest streaks, with Cal-State Fullerton's 22 straight appearances ranking third.

Among other ACC teams, Clemson will make its 26th NCAA appearance in 27 years. Georgia Tech is in the NCAA tournament for the sixth straight year, but the Yellow Jackets have appeared in 27 of the last 29 tournaments overall.

North Carolina is making its 12th straight NCAA appearance and 15th in 16 years. Virginia will make its 10th straight NCAA appearance. NC State will appear in its fourth straight NCAA tournament and its 10th in 11 years.

Total NCAA postseason appearances (counting this season) for this year's ACC participating teams are as follows: Florida State 51, Miami 42, Clemson 38, Georgia Tech 29, North Carolina 28, NC State 26, Virginia 13 and Virginia Tech 10.

NCAA Regionals, which will consist of four-team double-elimination tournaments at 16 campus sites, will get under way Friday (May 31) and run through Monday (June 3) as necessary. The eight regional winners will advance to Super Regional play, again at campus sites, June 7-10. Those eight winners will then move on the 67th Men's College World Series, set for June 15-25/26 at Omaha, Neb.

Opening games and regional matchups involving ACC teams are listed below, followed by the other regional sites:

2013 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship

Blacksburg Regional hosted by Virginia Tech
#1 Virginia Tech (38-20) vs. #4 Connecticut (34-26), 5:30 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Oklahoma (40-19) vs. Coastal Caro. (37-21), 1 p.m., ESPN3

Chapel Hill Regional hosted by North Carolina
#1 North Carolina (52-8) vs. #4 Canisius (42-15), 6 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Fla. Atlantic (39-20) vs. #3 Towson (29-28), 1 p.m., ESPN3

Charlottesville Regional hosted by Virginia
#1 Virginia (47-10) vs. #4 Army (29-21), 1 p.m., ESPN3
#2 UNC Wilmington (37-21) vs. #3 Elon (32-28), 6 p.m., ESPN3

Columbia Regional hosted by South Carolina
#1 South Carolina (39-18) vs. #4 Saint Louis (41-19), 7 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Clemson (39-20) vs. #3 Liberty (34-27), 1 p.m., ESPN3

Louisville Regional hosted by Louisville
#1 Louisville (46-12) vs. #4 Bowling Green (24-29), 6 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Miami (FL) (36-23) vs. #3 Oklahoma St. (39-17), 2 p.m., ESPN3

Nashville Regional hosted by Vanderbilt
#1 Vanderbilt (51-9) vs. #4 East Tenn. St. (36-22), 7 p.m., ESPNU/ESPN3
#2 Georgia Tech (34-25) vs. #3 Illinois (34-18), 2 p.m., ESPN3

Raleigh Regional hosted by NC State 
#1 NC State (44-14) vs. #4 Binghamton (30-23), 7 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Ole Miss (37-22) vs. #3 William & Mary (37-22), 2 p.m., ESPN3

Tallahassee Regional hosted by Florida State
#1 Florida State (44-15) vs. #4 Savannah St. (33-21), 5 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Alabama (34-26) vs. #3 Troy (40-18), 12 noon, ESPNU/ ESPN3