Five ACC Teams To Serve as Regional Host Sites for NCAA Baseball Championship

May 27, 2012

Indianapolis, Ind. & Greensboro, N.C. - Five Atlantic Coast Conference teams are among the 16 Regional site hosts for the 2012 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, as announced by on Sunday afternoon. Atlantic Division champion Florida State, Coastal Division champion North Carolina, Miami, NC State and Virginia will all be at home as play gets under way this Friday (June 1).

The ACC’s five selections as site hosts lead all conferences. With Georgia Tech earning the league’s automatic NCAA bid by virtue of winning the ACC Championship on Sunday, the ACC is assured of having at least six teams among the complete 64-team field, which will be announced on Monday at noon (ESPNU). Four other conference teams – Clemson, Maryland, Wake Forest and Virginia Tech – were ranked among the top 37 of the most recent NCAA RPI report.

The 16 NCAA Regional host sites are as follows:
Baton Rouge, Louisiana - LSU (43-16)
Chapel Hill, North Carolina - North Carolina (44-14)
Charlottesville, Virginia - Virginia (38-17)
College Station, Texas - Texas A&M (42-16)
Columbia, South Carolina - South Carolina (40-17)
Coral Gables, Florida - Miami (36-21)
Eugene, Oregon - Oregon (42-16)
Gainesville, Florida - Florida (42-18)
Gary, Indiana - Purdue (44-12)
Houston, Texas - Rice (40-17)
Los Angeles, California - UCLA (41-14)
Palo Alto, California - Stanford (37-16)
Raleigh, North Carolina - NC State (39-17)
Tallahassee, Florida - Florida State (42-15)
Tucson, Arizona - Arizona (37-17)
Waco, Texas - Baylor (44-14)