Four From ACC Named To NCBWA Names Preseason Stopper of the Year Watch List

Feb. 8, 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Seventy-five players have been named to the initial watch list for the ninth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, as announced by the association on Friday.

Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes named to the list include Clemson’s Scott Firth, Boston College’s John Gorman, Virginia Tech’s Clark Labitan and Miami’s A.J. Salcines.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 16, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

From the list of finalists, the NCBWA's All-America Committee will select a winner. The ninth annual winner will be announced in Omaha on Saturday, June 15, the opening day of the College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia’s Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State’s Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas’ Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

2013 NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List
Pitcher School Yr.
Brady Anderson Florida Gulf Coast So.
Barrett Astin Arkansas Jr.
Kyle Bartsch South Alabama Sr.
David Berg UCLA So.
Josh Biggs Evansville Sr.
Tony Bryant Oregon State Sr.
Michael Burchett Sam Houston State Sr.
Nick Burdi Louisville So.
Tyler Burgess Missouri State So.
Aaron Burke Coastal Carolina Sr.
Chase Byerly Butler Sr.
Gunnar Carroll Army Jr.
Will Chesney East Tennessee State Jr.
Pat Christensen LaSalle Sr.
Adam Cimber San Francisco Sr.
Ryan Connolly Coastal Carolina Sr.
Bret Dahlson Loyola Marymount Jr.
Ryan Deeter UCLA Jr.
Josh Dezse Ohio State Jr.
Matt Dunbar Arizona State Sr.
Todd Eaton Southern Illinois Jr.
Eric Eck Wofford Jr.
Alex Facundus Tulane Jr.
Scott Firth Clemson Sr.
Max Garner Baylor Sr.
John Garrett VMI Sr.
Michael Gomez FIU Sr.
Joe Goodman High Point So.
John Gorman Boston College So.
Trevor Gott Kentucky Jr.
Zack Hartman UNLV Jr.
Preston Hatcher Western Carolina Sr.
Taylor Haydel Western Kentucky Sr.
Nate Hill Troy Sr.
Dylan Hills Southeastern Louisiana Jr.
Jonathan Holder Mississippi State So.
Brett Huber Mississippi Sr.
Chris Huffman James Madison So.
Kyle Kingsley North Dakota State Sr.
Corey Knebel Texas Jr.
Clark Labitan Virginia Tech Sr.
Steven Leasure South Florida Sr.
Brett Loeding Northern Kentucky Sr.
Michael Lorenzen Cal State Fullerton Jr.
Ryan Mattes Campbell Sr.
Justin McCalvin Kennesaw State So.
Hobie McClain New Mexico Sr.
Ronnie Muck Illinois Jr.
Jake Naumann Evansville Sr.
James Norwood Saint Louis So.
Kenny O'Brien George Washington Sr.
Thomas Olson Dartmouth So.
Race Parmenter UC Irvine Sr.
Drew Reynolds East Carolina Jr.
Joel Rinehart Navy Sr.
Bradley Roney Southern Miss So.
Reid Roper Illinois So.
Kyle Ruchim Northwestern Jr.
A.J. Salcines Miami (Fla.) Jr.
Logan Scott California Sr.
Jimmie Sherfy Oregon Jr.
Dan Slania Notre Dame Jr.
Michael Smith Dallas Baptist Sr.
Chad Sobotka USC Upstate So.
Colby Suggs Arkansas Jr.
Tim Swatek Fordham Jr.
David Teasley Mercer Sr.
Kellen Urbon Cornell So.
A.J. Vanegas Stanford Jr.
Dylan Vogt Nebraska Sr.
Michael Wagner San Diego Jr.
Tyler Webb South Carolina Sr.
Nate Williams Kansas State So.
Mark Winkelman Creighton Sr.
Nate Young Elon Sr.