2011 ACC Cross Country Championships Set for Saturday, October 29

Oct. 24, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) -- The Atlantic Coast Conference kicks off the 2011 Fall Championship schedule on Saturday, October 29, with the Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championship held at the Musser Farms Course in Clemson, S.C. The men’s 8k race will start at 10:00 a.m., followed by the women’s 6k competition at 11:00 a.m.

In the men’s rankings, Florida State enters the championship as the highest ranked ACC team at No. 18 nationally, while NC State is 19th and North Carolina 30th.

The women’s race will feature five schools ranked in the Top 30 of the USTFCCCA poll. Florida State enters the championship as the nation’s top-ranked team. The Seminoles are followed by Virginia 17th, NC State 21st, North Carolina 22nd and Boston College 24th.

At last year’s conference championship meet in Boston, Mass., Florida State made a clean sweep of the team titles, capturing its first-ever ACC men’s championship and its third-straight women’s title.

The Seminoles placed five runners in the Top 12 in the 8k men’s competition, led by Mathew Leeder and Ciaran O’Lionaird, who placed third and fourth respectively, to compile 43 points in outdistancing second-place NC State (81) and third place North Carolina (84). Virginia was fourth with 92 points followed by Duke (93), Wake Forest (209), Virginia Tech (242), Maryland (244), Boston College (254), Clemson (267), Georgia Tech (271) and Maryland (357).

Virginia senior Emil Heineking became the 9th ACC men’s cross country runner to win multiple titles as he repeated as ACC champion with a time of 23.40.1, to finish four tenths of a seconds ahead of teammate Ryan Collins who finished second in a time of 23.40.5.

In the 6,000-meter women’s competition, NC State’s Laura Hoer took individual honors with a time of 20.04.5, finishing a second ahead of Florida State’s Pasca Cheruiyot (20.05.5). The Seminoles placed five runners among the top 18 finishers, including Pilar McShine (5th, 20.25.9), Astrid Leutert (12th, 20.44.2), Jessica Parry (15th, 20.52.2) and Amanda Winslow (18th, 20.56.4) to record 52 points to finish ahead of Virginia (75), Duke (99) and host Boston College (100).

North Carolina was fifth with 123 points, followed by NC State (137), Wake Forest (206), Virginia Tech (207), Clemson (208), Maryland (311), Georgia Tech (315) and Miami (353).

Hoer became the ninth NC State women’s runner (11th total individual titles) to take the individual ACC title, the most recent being Julia Lucas in 2006.