2009 ACC All-Academic Men's Cross Country Team Announced

Feb. 26, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Headed by Florida State junior Matt Leeder, five All-Conference honorees secured spots on the 2009 Atlantic Coast Conference All-Academic Men’s Cross Country Team as announced today by Commissioner John D. Swofford.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

The 2009 ACC Scholar Athlete of the Year for Men’s Cross Country, Leeder finished fifth at this year’s ACC Championships, completing the 8K course in 23:33 and keying the Seminoles to a third-place finish, 16 points behind ACC Champion Duke. A two-time All-ACC performer and a three-time All-South Region selection, the Brockville, Ontario, native placed fourth at the NCAA South Regional and 43rd at the NCAA Championship in Terre Haute, Ind.

All-Academic team members who earned All-ACC honors this past fall are Leeder, Duke’s Bo Waggoner, North Carolina’s Adam Cunningham and Evan Watchempino and NC State’s Patrick Campbell. Waggoner finished sixth at the ACC Championship, one position behind Leeder, while Campbell was eighth, Watchempino 11th and Cunningham 12th.

Leeder, Waggoner and Virginia Tech’s Paul LaPenna and Devin Cornwall each earned a berth on the league’s academic honor team for a third time in their career. Earning All-Academic honors for a second time are Cunningham, Duke’s Josh Lund, Maryland’s Alex Lundy, NC State’s Robert Moldovan and Clemson’s Jonathon Sunde.

2009 ACC Men's Cross Country All-Academic Team
Name Class School Major
Patrick Campbell Fr. NC State Biological Sciences
Devin Cornwell Sr. Virginia Tech Marketing
Adam Cunningham Jr. North Carolina Economics
Greg Dame Jr. NC State Sports Management
Zack Dawson Sr. North Carolina Political Science
Ben Diestel Jr. Maryland Kinesiological Sciences
Garrett Drogosch Fr. Wake Forest Undeclared
Michael Fout So. Florida State Psychology
Kyle Gaffney So. Maryland Marketing
Matt Hickey Sr. Georgia Tech Mechanical Engineering
James Kostelnik So. Duke Undeclared
Paul LaPenna Sr. Virginia Tech Human nutrition foods & exercise
Matt Leeder Jr. Florida State Psychology
Josh Lund Jr. Duke Computer Science
Alex Lundy Jr. Maryland Biological Sciences
Trey Miller Sr. Virginia Foreign Affairs
Robert Moldovan Jr. NC State Elementary Education
Keaton Morgan Sr. Wake Forest Biology
Philip O'Brien So. Georgia Tech Mechanical Engineering
James Osborne Sr. Duke Public Policy
Jonathon Sunde Jr. Clemson Mechanical Engineering
Bo Waggoner Jr. Duke Mathematics
Evan Watchempino So. North Carolina Communications