2012 All-ACC Academic Women's Outdoor Track & Field Team Announced

June 29, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) - Clemson's Alyssa Kulik has been recognized as the 2012 Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Outdoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by the conference office. Kulik highlights the 2012 All-ACC Academic Women's Outdoor Track & Field Team.

A senior majoring in Psychology and Spanish, Kulik won the 2012 ACC title in the 3000 Steeplechase and earned her second career USTFCCCA First Team All-America honor with a seventh place finish at the NCAA Championship. The Simpsonville, S.C., native has been named to the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team the past two years. She is a recipient of the Weaver-James Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarship Award from the ACC and of an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship. This is her third Outdoor All-ACC Academic honor.

15 selections to the All-ACC Academic Team are repeat honorees. Boston College's Caroline King, North Carolina's Ashley Verplank, and Miami's Miranda Wilson have been named to the team four times. Florida State's Amanda Winslow joins Kulik as a three-time honoree.

All 12 ACC schools are represented on the 2012 All-ACC Academic Team, led by Florida State with eight and Duke with seven. Virginia has five, followed by Clemson and Virginia Tech with four and Boston College, Georgia Tech, and Maryland with three athletes. Two athletes from North Carolina, NC State, and Wake Forest and one from Miami were honored.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

2012 All-ACC Academic Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Team
Caroline King % Boston College GS Administrative Studies
Liv Westphal Boston College Fr. Undeclared
Jillian King Boston College Sr. Theology
Alyssa Kulik # Clemson Sr. Psychology/Spanish
Marlena Wesh Clemson Jr. Psychology
Christina Gasparino @ Clemson So. Health Science
Whitney Fountain Clemson So. Sociology
Juliet Bottorff @ Duke Jr. Neuroscience
Cydney Ross @ Duke Sr. Public Policy
Erica Brand @ Duke So. Public Policy
Amy Fryt @ Duke GS Master of Liberal Studies
Michelle Anumba Duke Jr. Evolutionary Anthropology
Shannon Sullivan Duke Jr. Political Science
Carly Seymour Duke Sr. Psychology
Hannah Brooks Florida State GS Sports Psychology
Amanda Winslow # Florida State Jr. Sport Management
Colleen Quigley Florida State Fr. Dietetics
Astrid Leutert Florida State Sr. Biological Science
Kayleigh Tyerman Florida State Jr. Psychology
Chelsea Whalen @ Florida State So. Sport Management
Michelle Jenije @ Florida State Sr. International Affairs
Aubree Worden Florida State Fr. Dietetics
Jasmine Isley Georgia Tech Sr. Industrial Engineering
Jasmine Kent Georgia Tech Jr. Architecture
Melanie Akwule Georgia Tech Sr. Business Administration
Kiani Profit Maryland PB Kinesiology
Jessica Echard Maryland Sr. International Business
Moriah Young Maryland Jr. Mechanical Engineering
Ashley Verplank % North Carolina Sr. Psychology
Cameron Overstreet North Carolina Fr. Exercise and Sport Science
Andrea Cozzarelli @ NC State Sr. Civil Engineering
Joanna Thompson NC State So. Zoology
Miranda Wilson % Miami GS Counseling Mental Health
Catherine White Virginia Sr. Kinesiology
Morgane Gay @ Virginia Sr. Biology
Kathleen Stevens Virginia So. Undeclared
Jordan Lavender Virginia Fr. Undeclared
Abbey Karin Virginia Jr. Kinesiology
Samantha Dow Virginia Tech Jr. Biology
Valentina Muzaric Virginia Tech Fr. US
Victoria von Eynatten Virginia Tech So. US
Ogechi Nwaneri Virginia Tech Sr. Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise
Erika Martin Wake Forest So. Anthropology
Sarah Brobeck @ Wake Forest Sr. Chemistry
@ denotes two-time honoree
# denotes three-time honoree
% denotes four-time honoree