2012 All-ACC Academic Men's Indoor Track & Field Team Announced

May 11, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Duke’s Curtis Beach has been recognized as the 2012 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. Beach highlights the 2012 All-ACC Academic Men’s Indoor Track & Field Team.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

A junior studying psychology, Beach set a new conference record en route to winning the national championship in the indoor heptathlon. He scored 6,130 to set the new ACC mark and broke his own world record in the heptathlon 1,000 meters in a time of 2:23.63. For his performance, the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Association (USTFCCCA) named Beach as the 2012 National Field Athlete of the Year for the indoor season.

At the 2012 ACC Indoor Championship, the Albuquerque, N.M., native took home gold with a total of 5,862 points. He is one of 10 student-athletes that have been placed on the Bowerman watch list, which is awarded to the top male and female track athletes each year. This is the third Indoor All-ACC Academic recognition in his career.

Florida State graduate student Gonzalo Barroilhet was honored with his fifth-career academic honor. Virginia’s Kevin Anding and Wake Forest’s Alex Hill both have been named to the team four times, and Duke’s Beach and Michael Barbas, Maryland’s Zachery Ray, North Carolina’s Parker Smith, and Virginia Tech’s Hasheem Halim and Alexander Ziegler earned their third-career honor.

2012 All-ACC Academic Men’s Indoor Track & Field Team
Marty Maloney Clemson Sr. Sociology
Torian Ware Clemson Fr. Parks, Recreation, & Tourism Management
Ben Raskin Duke So. Undeclared
Brendon Pierson Duke Sr. Environmental Sciences
Curtis Beach # Duke Jr. Psychology
Justin Amezquita Duke So. Undeclared
Michael Barbas # Duke Sr. Neuroscience
Shaun Thompson Duke Fr. Undeclared
Tanner Anderson Duke So. Undeclared
Gonzalo Barroilhet & Florida State GS MBA
Aaron Unterberger @ Georgia Tech Sr. Industrial Engineering
Nikita Kirillov Georgia Tech Fr. Business Adminstration
Perron Jones Georgia Tech Jr. Computer Science
Richard Scheff Georgia Tech Sr. Mechanical Engineering
Jonathan Hill @ Maryland Jr. Criminology
Kyle Graves Maryland So. Kinesiology
Zachery Ray # Maryland Sr. Criminology
Bassim El-Sabami Miami So. Chemistry
Brian Himelright NC State Sr. Technology, Engineering, & Design Education
Jule Rich NC State So. Economics
Patrick Campbell NC State GS Physiology
Robert Moldovan NC State Sr. Elementary Education
Vibushan Sivakumaran NC State Fr. Undeclared
Isaac Presson North Carolina So. Undeclared
O'Neal Wanliss North Carolina Fr. Undeclared
Parker Smith # North Carolina Sr. Management and Society
Christian Lavorgna Virginia Fr. Undeclared
Christopher Foley Virginia So. Undeclared
Kevin Anding % Virginia Sr. Economics
Mark Amirault Virginia GS Public Health
Taylor Gilland Virginia Jr. Commerce
Thomas Porter Virginia Jr. Kinesiology
Alexander Ziegler # Virginia Tech Jr. Management
Christopher Walizer @ Virginia Tech Sr. Human Nutrition, Foods, & Exercise
Hasheem Halim # Virginia Tech Sr. Architecture
Luka Mustafic Virginia Tech Fr. University Studies
Ronnie Black @ Virginia Tech Jr. Psychology
Scott Campbell Virginia Tech So. Apparel, Housing, and Resource Management
Alex Hill % Wake Forest Sr. Accounting
Alex Rose Wake Forest So. Undecided
Nate Guthals Wake Forest Jr. Health & Exercise Science
Paul Loeser Wake Forest Sr. Biology
@ denotes two-time honoree
# denotes three-time honoree
% denotes four-time honoree
& denotes five-time honoree