2011 All-ACC Academic Men's Indoor Track & Field Team Announced

April 29, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Clemson graduate student Miller Moss has been honored as the 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. Moss highlights the 2011 All-ACC Academic Men's Indoor Track & Field Team, which includes 13 All-ACC honorees.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his or her academic career.

A three-time All-ACC Academic Team honoree, Moss became Clemson's first ACC Field Performer of the Year since the creation of the award in 2007. He set a league record with 5,881 points in the men's heptathlon at the ACC Championship to win the gold medal. The parks, recreation and tourism management graduate from Sumter, S.C., then bested that mark at the NCAA championship, tallying a career-best 5,986 points to claim the Tigers' first multi-event national title. He earned All-America accolades for the second time. Moss was also recently named the Southeast Region Men's Field Athlete of the Year by USTFCCCA.

Joining Moss as both an All-ACC and All-ACC Academic selection were Curtis Beach and Ryan McDermott of Duke, Brian Chibudu and Michael Fout of Florida State, Jon Hill of Maryland, Parker Smith and Mateo Sossah of North Carolina, Andrew Colley and Greg Dame of NC State, Kevin Anding of Virginia and Ronnie Black and Alex Ziegler of Virginia Tech. Additionally, Moss, Beach, Chibudu, Smith, Sossah and Ziegler garnered All-America status at this year's NCAA championship.

Also highlighting this year's team was Florida State's Gonzalo Barroilhet, a four-time All-ACC Academic Team selection. Ian Thomas of Boston College, Ryan McDermott and Bo Waggoner of Duke, Brian Chibudu of Florida State, Greg Kelsey and Jarenn Stewart of Maryland, Adam Cunningham of North Carolina, Kevin Anding of Virginia and Alexander Hill of Wake Forest joined Moss as three-time honorees. A total of nine student-athletes collected the second accolade of their career.

2011 All-ACC Academic Men's Indoor Track & Field Team
Ian Thomas #Sr.BiologyBoston College
Warren FraserSo.Health ScienceClemson
Michael KopanskiFr.Pre-BusinessClemson
Miller Moss !#^Gr.Parks, Rec., & Tourism ManagementClemson
Jeffrey WillisSo.General EngineeringClemson
Michael Barbas @Jr.NeuroscienceDuke
Curtis Beach @^So.PsychologyDuke
Andrew Brodeur @Jr.Biological Anthropology & AnatomyDuke
Josh LundSr.Computer ScienceDuke
Ryan McDermott #^Sr.Political ScienceDuke
Michael MovermanSo.BiologyDuke
Sean-Pat Oswald @Sr.Biology/ReligionDuke
Tony ShirkJr.Environmental Science/PolicyDuke
Bo Waggoner # Sr.Mathematics/Computer ScienceDuke
David AmblerSo.Public RelationsFlorida State
Gonzalo Barroilhet %Jr.EconomicsFlorida State
Brian Chibudu #^Sr.StatisticsFlorida State
David ForresterSo.Biological ScienceFlorida State
Michael Fout @^Jr.PsychologyFlorida State
Tremaine GrantSo.Computer ScienceFlorida State
Jakub ZivecFr.BusinessFlorida State
Duncan ThompsonJr.Computer EngineeringGeorgia Tech
Aaron UnterbergerJr.Industrial EngineeringGeorgia Tech
Jon Hill ^So.Letters and SciencesMaryland
Greg Kelsey #Gr.Education, Leaders & PoliticsMaryland
Jarenn Stewart #Jr.KinesiologyMaryland
Adam Cunningham #Sr.EconomicsNorth Carolina
Parker Smith @^Sr.Management and SocietyNorth Carolina
Mateo Sossah @^Sr.Business AdministrationNorth Carolina
Kwame Boatwright @Jr.AccountingNC State
Andrew Colley ^So.Business AdministrationNC State
Greg Dame ^Sr.Sports ManagementNC State
Kevin Anding # ^Jr.EconomicsVirginia
Ronnie Black ^So.Human Nutrition, Foods and ExerciseVirginia Tech
Chris WalizerSr.FinanceVirginia Tech
Alexander Ziegler @^So.University StudiesVirginia Tech
Alexander Hill #Jr.AccountancyWake Forest
Scott McCulloughJr.BiologyWake Forest
! denotes 2011 ACC Men's Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year
@ denotes two-time honoree
# denotes three-time honoree
% denotes four-time honoree
^ denotes 2011 All-ACC team member