2013 All-ACC Academic Men's Indoor Track & Field Team Announced

April 16, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Virginia Tech's Alexander Ziegler has been recognized as the 2013 Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. Ziegler highlights the 2013 All-ACC Academic Men's Indoor Track & Field Team.

A graduate student studying business administration, Ziegler capped a banner season for the ACC champion Hokies by claiming the national title in the weight throw. The native of Dischingen, Germany, claimed his third national title - and first during indoor competition - with a throw of 73-8.25 (22.46m).

Ziegler - a 2012 Bowerman semifinalist and currently a member of the award's 2013 watch list - also made his mark at the ACC Championships with a meet record on a colossal throw of 77-8.75 (23.69m) that placed atop this season's NCAA distance chart and ranked eighth all-time in NCAA history. Ziegler's consistency in the classroom has matched his athletic success, as this year marks the seventh time has been named to the All-ACC Academic Men's Track and Field Team (four indoor, three outdoor).

Duke and Florida State lead the 2013 All-ACC Academic Men's Indoor Track and Field Team with eight selections apiece, and Virginia had seven student-athletes honored. To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

ACC Men's Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Alexander Ziegler, Virginia Tech
2013 All-ACC Academic Men's Indoor Track & Field Team
Timothy Ferris Boston College So. Economics
Daniel Dey Clemson Fr. General Engineering
Marty Maloney Clemson Gr. Applied Sociology
Ty McCormack Clemson Jr. Language & International Trade
Justin Amezquita @ Duke Jr. Mechanical Engineering
Tanner Anderson @ Duke Jr. Biology
James Kostlenik Duke Gr. Masters of Management
Nate McClafferty Duke So. Economics
Tommy Meister Duke Fr. Undeclared
Michael Moverman Duke Sr. Biology
Dominick Robinson Duke Sr. Mechanical Engineering
Marcus Wright Duke Jr. Cultural Anthropology
Stefan Brits Florida State So. Biology
Owen Cain Florida State Jr. Interdisciplinary Social Science
Michael Fout Florida State Sr. Psychology
Jeff Pelage Florida State Gr. Global Management & Product Development
Alonzo Russell Florida State Jr. Psychology
Kieran Showler-Davis Florida State So. Economics
Stargell Williams Florida State Jr. Sports Management
Jakub Zivec Florida State Jr. Finance
Aaron Unterberger # Georgia Tech Gr. Industrial Engineering
Perron Jones @ Georgia Tech Jr. Computer Science
Bassim El-Sabami @ Miami Jr. Chemistry
Timothy Richardson Miami So. Arts & Sciences
Anthony Wolliston Miami So. Biomedical Engineering
Chadd Pierce North Carolina Sr. Communication Studies
Isaac Presson @ North Carolina Jr. Business Administration
Ryan Ramsey North Carolina Jr. Business Administration
Dorian Crawford NC State Jr. Biological Sciences
Jule Rich @ NC State Jr. Economics
Mark Amirault @ Virginia Gr. Public Health
Matthew Armentrout Virginia Sr. Biology
Taylor Gilland @ Virginia Jr. Commerce
Christian Lavorgna @ Virginia Fr. Undeclared
Bryan Lewis Virginia Sr. Physics
Thomas Porter @ Virginia Jr. Kinesiology
Ryan Satchell Virginia So. Undeclared
Ronnie Black # Virginia Tech Sr. Psychology
Matt Hoogland Virginia Tech So. HNFE
Alexander Ziegler % Virginia Tech Gr. Business Administration
Thomas Bojanowski Wake Forest Jr. Economics
Michael McEnany Wake Forest Sr. Health & Exercise Science
@ denotes two-time honoree
# denotes three-time honoree
% denotes four-time honoree