Duke's Bo Waggoner Named ACC Men's Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year

April 14, 2010


GREENSBORO, N.C.— Duke junior Bo Waggoner was named the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford, and headlines 39 student-athletes selected to the Men’s Indoor Track & Field All-ACC Academic Team. Selections for the All-ACC Academic team must have earned a 3.0 GPA during the fall semester and for their careers, with selection based on athletic merit. Selections for the All-ACC Academic team must have earned a 3.0 GPA during the fall semester and for their careers, with selection based on athletic merit.

Waggoner, who is appearing on the All-ACC Academic team for the second straight year, earned All-ACC honors in the 5,000-meter run with a third-place finish in 14:29.64 at February’s ACC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Championship. Additonally, the Maumee, Ohio, native recorded a school-record 14:16.37 in the event at the Amory Collegiate Invitational, a mark that ranked third in the conference during the indoor season. Waggoner, who is a mathematics major, also holds the school record in the 3,000-meter run.

The All-ACC Academic squad is also highlighted by 14 individuals who turned in All-ACC performances at the ACC championship and three All-Americas. Ten of 12 league teams are represented on the list, with Waggoner and the Blue Devils leading with six selections. Five teams—Florida State, Maryland, North Carolina, NC State, and Virginia Tech—each have five student-athletes on the team. Boston College is garnering three honors, while Clemson and Wake Forest have two, and Virginia has 1.

The 2010 ACC Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Championships will be held this weekend, April 15-17, and hosted by Clemson University. Action on Thursday and Friday will begin at 10 a.m. with the javelin throw, decathlon and heptathlon, discus throw, and 10,000-meter run on Thursday. The remainder of the decathlon and heptathlon, as well as the long jump and shot put, 3,000-meter steeplechase, and the preliminary round of running events are set for Friday.

Action on Saturday continues in the field at 12 p.m. with the high jump, hammer throw, triple jump, and pole vault. The finals of running events are scheduled to begin at 3 p.m., and the post-championship awards ceremony will follow all events at 7:10 p.m.

Portions of the championship will be video-streamed live via theACC.com on Friday and Saturday beginning at 3 p.m. Jerry Massey will call the action. In addition, live results will be available at the official championship website, http://www.theacc.com/championships/10-otf-championship.html.  


2010 All-ACC Academic Men’s Indoor Track & Field Team
Name Yr. Major School
Andrew Maclsaac Jr. History Boston College
Tim Ritchie @^ Gr. College of Arts & Sciences Boston College
Ian Thomas @ Jr. Environmental Geo-Science Boston College
Miller Moss ^ Sr. Parks, Rec., & Tourism Management Clemson
Xavier Tromp Fr. Industrial Engineering Clemson
Curtis Beach ^ Fr. Undeclared Duke
James Kostelnik So. Undeclared Duke
Mike Kotecki Sr. Biomedical Engineering Duke
Ryan McDermott Jr. Political Science Duke
Sean-Patrick Oswald ^ Jr. Religion Duke
Bo Waggoner !@ ^ Jr. Mathematics Duke
Gonzalo Barroilhet @ Jr. Management Florida State
Charles Clark ^ Sr. Sport Management Florida State
Michael Fout So. Psychology Florida State
Matthew Leeder @ ^ Jr. Psychology Florida State
Pablo Navarrete Jr. Management Florida State
Greg Jubb Jr. Journalism Maryland
Greg Kelsey Jr. Kinesiological Sciences Maryland
Alex Lundy Jr. Biological Sciences Maryland
Zack Ray @ So. Criminology/Criminal Justice Maryland
Jarenn Stewart @ So. Kinesiological Sciences Maryland
Edward Baldwin Sr. Radiology North Carolina
Adam Cunningham @ ^ Jr. Economics North Carolina
Parker Smith Jr. Exercise & Sport Science North Carolina
Mateo Sossah ^ Jr. Business Administration North Carolina
Evan Watchempino Jr. Communication Studies North Carolina
Kwame Boatwright So. Undeclared NC State
Jason Jones @ Jr. Public Administration NC State
Ben Major Fr. Science Education NC State
Tim Majors @ So. Engineering NC State
James Robinson So. Management NC State
Kevin Anding @ ^ So. Undeclared Virginia
Hasheem Halim @ ^ So. Architecture Virginia Tech
Michael Hammond ^ So. Psychology Virginia Tech
Marcel Lomnicky ^ So. Business Virginia Tech
Matej Muza @ Gr. Geography Virginia Tech
Alex Ziegler ^ Fr. University Studies Virginia Tech
Alexander Hill @ So. Undeclared Wake Forest
Brent LaRue @ Sr. Health & Exercise Science Wake Forest
! denotes 2010 ACC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year
@ denotes two-time honoree; ^ denotes 2010 All-ACC team member