Florida State's Kim Williams Named ACC Women's Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year

April 14, 2010


GREENSBORO, N.C.—Florida State junior Kim Williams was named the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford, and headlines a list of 38 student-athletes selected to the 2010 All-ACC Academic Women’s Indoor Track & Field Team. Candidates for scholar-athlete of the year must have earned a 3.0 grade-point-average in each of the last two semesters, while maintaining a cumulative 3.0 GPA. Selections for the All-ACC Academic team must have earned a 3.0 GPA during the fall semester and for their careers, with selection based on athletic merit.

Williams, who was also selected the 2010 ACC Indoor Track Performer of the Year, won both the ACC and NCAA triple jump titles for the second consecutive year, recording marks of 46-8.25 and 45-9.25, respectively. The former mark set league and Rector Field House (Virginia Tech) records. The Kingston, Jamaica, native is a sport management major and was one of only three ACC performers to earn All-America status in more than one event at last month’s NCAA championship, as her 21-foot, 2.50-inch leap in the long jump was good for fifth place.

This year’s edition of the All-ACC Academic squad features 12 student-athletes who earned All-ACC status in 2010 and five All-American performers. Eleven of 12 league schools are represented on the list with ACC indoor champion Clemson claiming seven selections among the 38-member squad to lead all teams. Florida State follows Clemson with five picks, and Duke, Maryland, Virginia Tech, and Miami each have four individuals on the team. Georgia Tech and Miami have three apiece. Rounding out the order are Boston College and NC State with two honorees, and North Carolina with one.

The 2010 ACC Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Championships will be held this weekend, April 15-17, and hosted by Clemson University. Action on Thursday and Friday will begin at 10 a.m. with the javelin throw, decathlon and heptathlon, discus throw, and 10,000-meter run on Thursday. The remainder of the decathlon and heptathlon, as well as the long jump and shot put, 3,000-meter steeplechase, and the preliminary round of running events are set for Friday.

Action on Saturday continues in the field at 12 p.m. with the high jump, hammer throw, triple jump, and pole vault. The finals of running events are scheduled to begin at 3 p.m., and the post-championship awards ceremony will follow all events at 7:10 p.m.

Portions of the championship will be video-streamed live via theACC.com on Friday and Saturday beginning at 3 p.m. Jerry Massey will call the action. In addition, live results will be available at the official championship website, http://www.theacc.com/championships/10-otf-championship.html.  


2010 All-ACC Academic Women’s Indoor Track & Field Team
Name Yr. Major School
Caitlin Bailey @^ Sr. Biology Boston College
Mallory Champa ^ Gr. Theology Boston College
Linda Buchholz Jr. Marketing Clemson
Karine Farias Fr, Pre-Business Clemson
Caroline Kennedy @ Sr. Health Science Clemson
Patricia Mamona @^ Jr. Health Science Clemson
Amy Morrison @ Jr. Health Science Clemson
Kim Ruck ^ Jr. Health Science Clemson
Liane Weber @^ Jr. Health Science Clemson
Karolina Haraldsdottir @^ Sr. International Comparative Studies Duke
Madeline Morgan ^ Fr. Undeclared Duke
Cydney Ross So. Undeclared Duke
Sophia Ziemian Fr. Undeclared Duke
Jennifer Dunn So. Exercise Physiology Florida State
Amy Harris So. Business Florida State
Michelle Jenije So. International Affairs Florida State
Kim Williams !@^ Jr. Sport Management Florida State
Amanda Winslow ^ Fr. Sport Management Florida State
Tiffany Grant @ Sr. Management Georgia Tech
Jasmine Isley So. Industrial Engineering Georgia Tech
Johanna Wright @^ Jr. Biology Georgia Tech
Taylor Bumpas Fr. Mathematics Maryland
D’Ambour Lewis So. Undeclared Maryland
Moriah Young Fr. Undeclared Maryland
Megan Novinger @ Jr. Criminology Miami
Kristy Whyte @ Sr. Exercise Physiology Miami
Miranda Wilson Jr. Psychology Miami
Christine Johnson Jr. Business Administration North Carolina
Gabreille Daniel Sr. Nutrition Science NC State
Emily Pritt So. Communications/Media Relations NC State
Oluwafunmi Alabi Fr. University Studies Virginia Tech
Kristi Castlin @^ Sr. Political Science Virginia Tech
Kelly Phillips Jr. Biology Virginia Tech
Ogechi Nwaneri So. Human Nutrition, Foods, & Exerciser Virginia Tech
Mary Binder So. Undeclared Wake Forest
Anna Noksenko @^ Jr. Political Science Wake Forest
Gwendolyn Ricco Fr. Undeclared Wake Forest
Caroline Vaughn Sr. Communication Wake Forest
! denotes 2010 ACC Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year
@ denotes two-time honoree; ^ denotes 2010 All-ACC team member