ACC Recognizes 2011 ACC Indoor Track & Field Annual Award Honorees

March 21, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Seniors Miller Moss of Clemson and Kimberly Williams of Florida State – who both won NCAA individual titles at the 2011 NCAA Men’s and Women’s Indoor Track & Field Championships – highlight a group of eight individuals who have been honored as 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Indoor Track & Field annual award recipients, as announced today by commissioner John Swofford. Moss was selected as the 2011 ACC Men’s Indoor Field Performer of the Year, while Williams was named the 2011 ACC Women’s Indoor Field Performer of the Year for the second consecutive year by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Also garnering accolades from Clemson was head coach Lawrence Johnson, the ACC Women’s Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year. Williams’ teammate Maurice Mitchell collected his second-straight honor as Men’s Indoor Track Performer of the Year. Virginia Tech head coach Dave Cianelli was tabbed Men’s Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year joining Samira Burkhardt – the Women’s Indoor Track & Field Freshman of the Year – in representing the Hokies. Virginia’s Anthony Kostelac was honored as the Men’s Indoor Track & Field Freshman of the Year, while Wake Forest senior Anna Nosenko was selected as the Women’s Indoor Track Performer of the Year.

Mitchell claimed victories in both the 60-meter (6.62) and 200-meter (20.76) dash events at the 2011 ACC Championship en route to earning back-to-back league track performer of the year accolades. The Kansas City, Mo., native collected the meet’s track MVP award. Mitchell followed that performance with All-America honors in the 60-meter (third, 6.64) and 200-meter (second, 20.41) for the second-straight year at the 2011 NCAA Indoor Championship. He accounted for 14 points as the Seminoles finished fifth, the highest among the conference’s men’s teams.

Moss became Clemson’s first field performer of the year since the creation of the award in 2007. He set a league record with 5,881 points in the men’s heptathlon at the ACC Championship to win the gold medal. The Sumter, S.C., native then bested that mark at the NCAA championship, tallying a career-best 5,986 points to claim the Tigers’ first multi-event national title. He earned All-America accolades for the second time. Moss was also recently named the Southeast Region Men’s Field Athlete of the Year by USTFCCCA.

Kostelac is the second Cavalier to be named freshman of the year, following teammate Robby Andrews. The Charlottesville, Va., native was the ACC champion in the 800-meter run, posting what was then a conference-leading time of 1:49.24. His time was a personal best and also tied him for fifth all-time at Virginia. Additionally, the mark was a season best among the nation’s freshmen. Kostelac was also part of Virginia’s 4x400 relay squad, which finished fourth at the league meet with a mark of 3:14.53.

In his ninth year at the helm in Blacksburg, Cianelli guided Virginia Tech’s men’s squad to its first ever conference track & field title. The Hokies became the first host team to win the men’s title since Maryland accomplished the feat in 1979. Tech scored 140 points, the most since 2006. The 48-point margin of victory was the largest since 2008. Cianelli and the Hokies placed 15th at the NCAA championship, scoring 13.5 points. Cianelli was recently named the Southeast Region Men’s Head Coach of the Year by the USTFCCCA.

Nosenko garnered Wake Forest’s first track performer of the year award in program history. She took top honors in both the 3,000-meter (9:12.02) and 5,000-meter (16:09.64) runs at the ACC championship. Her performance in the 3,000-meter set a league championship record, while her time in the 5,000-meter improved upon her personal best by nearly 10 seconds. The Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine, native went on to garner All-America status in both events at the NCAA championship. She finished fourth in the 5,000 with a 16:10.56 and sixth in the 3,000 with a 9:19.84.

Williams repeated as the women’s performer of the year after winning conference titles in both the long jump (6.55m) and triple jump (13.96m). The Kingston, Jamaica, native became the first four-time ACC champion in the triple jump. She wrapped up her third consecutive NCAA championship in the triple jump, registering a mark of 13.96m. Williams also claimed All-America accolades in the long jump, taking second with a leap of 6.40m. Her 18 points at the national meet helped the Seminoles finish ninth overall, the highest among the league’s women’s teams. She was recently honored as the South Region Women’s Field Athlete of the Year by USTFCCCA.

Burkhardt becomes Virginia Tech’s first freshman of the year since Abigail Schaffer in 2009. She claimed top honors in the shot put at the ACC championship, recording a mark of 15.88m. The Stuttgart, Germany, native is the first Hokie to win the conference title in the shot put since Brittany Pryor collected back-to-back titles in 2007 and 2008. At the national meet, Burkhardt placed 12th with a mark of 16.54 meters to garner All-America status.

Johnson guided Clemson to its second consecutive conference title and third overall en route to his women’s coach of the year accolades. In just three years at the helm, Johnson helped the Tigers to back-to-back titles for the first time since Virginia Tech in 2007 and 2008. The Tigers accumulated 152 points, taking first place by more than 50 points. Clemson finished 11th at the national meet, tallying 19 points. Johnson was recently selected as the Southeast Region Women’s Head Coach of the Year by the USTFCCCA.