Florida State's Braman and Clemson's Johnson Earn ACC Coach of the Year Honors

Feb. 28, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Florida State’s Bob Braman has been named the ACC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year, and Clemson’s Lawrence Johnson has been named the ACC Women’s Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year, announced Tuesday by the league office.

Florida State overcame a 29.5 point deficit and defeated defending champion Virginia Tech by 27.5 points to claim the 2012 title and win its ninth ACC Indoor Men’s Track & Field championship. Braman, a five-time Men’s Indoor Coach of the Year, led the Seminoles to six individual ACC titles and 12 All-ACC finishes. Florida State tallied 58 points in the sprints – including a sweep of the 200 meters – behind three-time ACC Indoor Championship Most Valuable Performer Maurice Mitchell.

Johnson, the two-time defending Women’s Indoor Coach of the Year, guided Clemson to their third-straight ACC title. The Tiger women have a league-leading four athletes automatically qualified for the NCAA Indoor Championship, and the squad set a new program record after being ranked second in the nation earlier this year. In total, Clemson won seven gold medals and had 15 All-ACC finishes at the ACC Women’s Indoor Championship.