ACC Announces 2013 Indoor Track And Field Coaches Of The Year

Feb. 26, 2013

GREEENSORO, N.C. ( - Virginia Tech director of track and field Dave Cianelli has been named the Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Indoor Coach of the Year, while Clemson interim director of track and field Shawn Cobey has been named the ACC Women's Indoor Coach of the Year, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Cianelli and Cobey led their respective teams to first-place finishes at the 2013 ACC Indoor Track and Field Championships, which were held last week at Virginia Tech's Rector Field House. The track and field directors at each of the ACC's schools' votes determined the ACC Coach of the Year honors.

The Virginia Tech men amassed 153 team points in the ACC Championship to finish 17 points ahead of second-place Florida State. It was the Hokies' second indoor title in three years under Cianelli, who also has the distinction of overseeing ACC championship programs in three consecutive seasons (2012 outdoor track and field, 2012 men's cross country and 2013 indoor track and field).

Seven of Cianeilli's student-athletes earned gold medals last weekend, including weight thrower Alexander Ziegler, who has been named to the 2013 Men's Bowerman Watch List. Thirteen Hokies earned All-ACC honors. Virginia Tech currently owns the No. 12 spot in the USTFCCCA NCAA Division I National Team Computer Rankings.

Cobey, who took over the helm of the Clemson program in early January, directed the Tigers to their fourth straight ACC Women's Indoor title and their fifth overall. Clemson finished with 141.5 points in the ACC Championship thanks to a strong showing in the Saturday running events.

The Tigers, ranked fifth nationally, finished with six gold medals in last weekend's Championship and claimed 13 top-three finishes.  All-ACC performers included meet track MVP Dezerea Bryant, who claimed gold medals in the 60- and 200-meter runs, and 2013 Women's Bowerman Watch List member Brianna Rollins, who broke her own record in the 60-meter hurdles with an ACC Championship record of 7.90.