Florida State Men, Clemson Women Claim ACC Indoor Track & Field Titles

Feb. 25, 2012

BOSTON, Mass. (theACC.com) - The Florida State men and Clemson women left the Reggie Lewis Center as the 2012 Atlantic Coast Conference Indoor Track and Field champions on Saturday.

Florida State forged ahead of defending champion Virginia Tech with a sweep of the men's 200 meter dash midway through Saturday's action and went on to lead the scoring for the ninth time in 10 years. Maurice Mitchell, who accounted for 18 points in the Seminoles' victory, was named the Most Valuable Track Performer of the event for a record third straight year.

The 20 championship was the third straight for the coach Lawrence Johnson's Tigers, who became the first women's program to win three straight ACC Indoor championships since North Carolina's run of nine straight from 1993 through 2001. The Tigers' big day included sweeps of the top three spots in gthe 60 meter hurdles and 60 meter dash, and a meet record-setting performance by freshman Dezerea Bryant in the 200 meters. Bryant, who also raced to victory in the 60-meter dash, earned women's Track MVP hono0rs.

Coach Bob Braman's Florida State men led the team scoring with 123 points. Virginia Tech placed second at 95.5, while North Carolina was third st 84.5. Virginia (80 points) and Clemson (78) rounded out the top five.

Clemson outdistanced the women's field with 166 points. Florida State placed second with 87, and North Carolina was third with 85. Virginia placed fourth with 59, and Virginia Tech was next with 63.

The field MVP award on the men's side went to NC State's Kris Kornegay-Gober, who set a meet record of 7-3 ¾ (2.23 m) in the high jump on Friday night. Duke's Michelle Anumba, who registered a gold medal throw of 54-1¼ in the shot put, earned the women's field MVP honor.

Florida State - 2012 Men's Champion


North Carolina struck first in the men's running events on Saturday, grabbing two of the top three places in the men's mile run. Sophomore Isaac Presson took the gold with a time of 4:08.19. just ahead of Virginia Tech's Chris Walizer (4:09.24) and UNC teammate Jack Driggs (4:09.67).

Florida State's Michael Putman had a winning throw of 63-0 (19.20 m) in the shot. It was the second straight gold medal for Putman, who placed first last year with a throw of 58-11¼. The triple jump featured an NCAA qualifier by Virginia's Marcus Robinson, who posted a winning distance of 53-6 ½ (16.32 m). Robinson and Virginia Tech's Hasheem Halim finished 1-2 in the triple jump for the second year in a row, and Halim claimed the silver medal for the third straight year after taking the bronze in 2009 as a freshman.

use for highlights on theACC.com w/ Havoline preroll

Clemson's Spencer Adams just missed an NCAA qualifying time with a gold medal effort of 7.72 in the 60-meter hurdles. Adams edged Miami's Devon Hill by one-tenth of a second, and Clemson's Marcus Maxey was third at 7.93.

Florida State claimed the gold in the 400-meter dash as freshman Stephen Newbold's time of 47.78 narrowly edged 2011 Clayton Parros of North Carolina's 47.86.

The Seminoles continued to make a run at leader Virginia Tech with a 1-2 finish in the 60-meter dash. Kemar Hyman posted an NCAA-qualifying time of 6.58, and two-time champion Mitchell placed second at 6.67.

The 800 meter run mirrored the overall closeness of the team scoring, as Virginia Tech's Ryan Witt posted a winning time of 1:48.76 to finish ahead of Florida State's Darrin Gibson and Clemson's Chris Slate. At that point, the Hokies led the team scoring with 82.5 points, followed by Florida State with 70 and Clemson with 71.

Then FSU made its move. Mitchell repeated his 2011 title in the 200-meter dash with a gold medal time of 20.93 and was followed by teammates Horatio Williams and Newbold for a Seminole sweep.

And shortly before the conclusion of that race, FSU's Gonzalo Barroilhet grabbed the gold medal in the pole vault with a winning effort of 17-6 ½ (5.35 m). The combination of wins left FSU ahead of the Hokies by a 103-87.5 count and in firm control.

The 3,000-meter run featured a trio of stellar efforts and sealed the match for the Seminoles. NC State's Ryan Hill earned his second straight gold medal with a time of 800,70 that shattered the old mark of 8:03.50 by Wake Forest's Nolan Swanson that had stood since 1999.

Meanwhile, Florida State's David Forrester placed second with a time of 8:02.64, also bettering the old meet record and giving the Seminoles eight huge team points for an insurmountable 33½- point lead with one event remaining. And Duke's Domenick DeMatteo's bronze medal time of 8:02.87 gave the ACC three automatic NCAA qualifiers from the eventful race.

Clemson - 2012 ACC Women's Champion


Clemson took charge in Saturday's women's running events, beginning with two NCAA automatic qualifying times by Brianna Rollins (8.07) and Bridgette Owens (8.08) in the 60 meter hurdles. The Tigers' Jasmine Edgerson posted a bronze medal time of 8.26 to complete a Tiger sweep.

The Clemson gold rush continued in the 400 meters, where junior Marlena Wesh posted a winning time of 53.10 to edge the North Carolina tandem of Danielle Brock and Elizabeth Mott.

use for highlights on theACC.com w/ Havoline preroll

That set up another sweep by the Tigers in the 60 meter dash. Bryant placed first with a time of 7.25 and was followed by teammates Edgerson and Stormy Kendrick. At that point, Clemson had piled up 114 team points, 50 points ahead of its nearest competitor, North Carolina (64), and was able to coast home from there.

Virginia junior Morgane Gay posted the winning time in the mile with a time of 4:41.40, edging out North Carolina freshman Liane Farber (4:41.80).

North Carolina's Tasha Stanley motored to victory in the 800 with a gold medal time of 2:08.18. Stanley was the 2011 runner-up to Boston College's Caroline King, who finished second in Saturday's event.

Bryant's record time of 23.26 in the 200 meters topped the old meet record of 23.27 set by Miamis' Murielle Ahoure in 2009.

Final Women's Team Scoring
1. Clemson 166
2. Florida State 87
3. North Carolina 85
4. Virginia 59
5. Virginia Tech 53
6. Duke 48
7. NC State 47
8. Maryland 35
9. Miami 32
10. Boston College 26
11. Georgia Tech 21
12. Wake Forest 4

Final Men's Team Scoring
1. Florida State 123
2. Virginia Tech 95.5
3. North Carolina 84.5
4. Virginia 80
5. Clemson 78
6. NC State 61
7. Duke 47
8. Georgia Tech 33.5
9. Maryland 28
10. Miami 19
11. Wake Forest 10
12. Boston College 2.5