2012 All-ACC Academic Women's Swimming & Diving Team Announced

May 9, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Virginia Tech junior Heather Savage has been recognized as the 2012 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by the conference office. Savage highlights the 2012 All-ACC Academic Women’s Swimming & Diving Team.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

At the 2012 ACC Championships in her home pool, Savage touched the wall in the 100-yard butterfly in a conference-record 52.14 seconds to win her first ACC title. At the NCAA Championships, she finished in seventh place in the event to earn All-America honors and earn 12 points to help the Hokies finish with their highest national placing in school history. Savage, a native of Canandaigua, N.Y., is majoring in Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise and was named a team captain as a junior.

Earning their third-career academic honors are Florida State’s Stephanie Sarandos, Maryland’s Virginia Glover and Alexa Hamilton, North Carolina’s Sarah Tanner, and Virginia’s Kelly Flynn. 10 others garnered their second-career accolades.

2012 All-ACC Academic Women’s Swimming & Diving Team
Meg Anderson @ Clemson Jr. Early Childhood Education
Christine Wixted Duke So. Undeclared
Jessica Lyden @ Duke Sr. Psychology
Ariel Rittenhouse Florida State Jr. Communications
Kelsey Goodman @ Florida State So. Family & Child Sciences
Stephanie Sarandos # Florida State Sr. Exercise Science
Julia Henkel @ Florida State So. Business
Victoria Richmond Florida State Sr. Marketing/Finance
Kaitlyn Dressel Florida State Fr. Exercise Science
Melissa Cooper Florida State So. Psychology
Keren Siebner Georgia Tech Sr. Industrial Engineering
Jordan Evans Georgia Tech Sr. Management
Virginia Glover # Maryland Sr. Communications
Megan Lafferty Maryland Jr. Criminology
Carolyn Fittin Maryland Fr. Undecided
Alexa Hamilton # Maryland Sr. Communications
Victoria Cassidy @ Maryland So. Undecided
Amy Halligan Maryland So. Journalism
Kara McCormack Miami Fr. Math
Dana Hatic Miami Sr. Journalism and Political Science
Miffy Henley @ NC State Jr. Parks, Recreation & Tourism Management
Hannah Freyman NC State Fr. Undecided
Danielle Siverling North Carolina Fr. Undecided
Laura Moriarty North Carolina Sr. Exercise and Sport Science
Sarah Tanner # North Carolina Sr. History
Jackie Rudolph North Carolina Jr. History
Katherine Rechsteiner @ North Carolina So. Chemistry
Ellen Williamson Virginia Fr. Undeclared
Emily Dicus Virginia Fr. Undeclared
Charlotte Clarke Virginia Jr. Undeclared
Alison Haulsee Virginia Fr. Undeclared
Kelly Flynn # Virginia Sr. Biology
Emily Lloyd @ Virginia So. Undeclared
Christine Olson @ Virginia Jr. Economics
Erika Stewart Virginia Sr. Sociology
Kelly Offutt Virginia Fr. Undeclared
Lauren Perdue @ Virginia Jr. Anthropology
Shaun Casey Virginia Fr. Undeclared
Logan Kline Virginia Tech Jr. Biology
Heather Savage Virginia Tech Jr. Human Nutrition Foods and Exercise
@ denotes two-time honoree
# denotes three-time honoree
% denotes four-time honoree