2011 All-ACC Academic Men's Swimming & Diving Team Announced

April 27, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. - North Carolina senior Tyler Harris has been recognized as the 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. Harris highlights the 2011 All-ACC Academic Men's Swimming & Diving Team, which includes 16 All-ACC honorees.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his or her academic career.

A four-time All-ACC Academic selection, Harris collected All-ACC accolades at the 2011 conference championship, taking first place in both the 200 and 400 Individual Medley events. He holds the school record in both events, while also being part of the 800-yard freestyle relay squad that set a program record at the league meet. A Journalism & Mass Communication major from Richmond, Va., Harris was a four-time NCAA Swimming & Diving Championship qualifier. At the 2011 national meet in Minneapolis, Minn., he garnered All-America status with a third-place finish in the 400 IM and also swam a leg on the 800-yard freestyle relay team that took seventh. His bronze medal in the 400 IM marks the highest finish by a Tar Heel at the national meet in 45 years. Additionally, Harris earned All-America honorable mention as part of the 400-yard medley relay squad, which posted a school-record time.

Joining Harris as both an All-ACC and All-ACC Academic selection were Seth Broster, Eric Bruck and Chris Dart of Clemson, Nick Garvy, Ben Hwang and Nick McCrory of Duke, Michael Neubacher of Florida State, Anton Lagerqvist and Brandon Makinson of Georgia Tech, Andrew Relihan of Maryland, Taylor Grey, Scot Robison and Taylor Smith of Virginia and Greg Mahon and Logan Shinholser of Virginia Tech. Broster, Bruck, Dart, McCrory, Neubacher, Grey, Robison, Smith and Shinholser also garnered All-America or All-America Honorable Mention at this year's NCAA Championship.

Five student-athletes collected the third All-ACC Academic honor of their career, including Chris Dart of Clemson, Maryland's Mitchell Challacombe, Virginia's Taylor Smith, and the Virginia Tech duo of Trey Stewart and Blake Trabuchi-Downey. A total of 14 student-athletes garnered their second accolade.


2011 All-ACC Academic Men's Swimming & Diving Team
Name Yr. Major School
Seth Broster @^ Jr. Chemical Engineering Clemson
Eric Bruck @^ So. Computer Science Clemson
Chris Dart #^ Jr. Communications Clemson
Steven Gasparini Fr. Pre-Business Clemson
Christopher Reinke @ Jr. Civil Engineering Clemson
Nick Garvy ^ Sr. Cultural Anthropology Duke
Ben Hwang @^ So. International Comparative Studies Duke
Nick McCrory @^ So. Mathematics Duke
Nicholas Klein @ So. Political Science Florida State
Brad Morrison So. Biochemistry Florida State
Michael Neubacher ^ Sr. Sport Management Florida State
Tom Neubacher Fr. Sport Management Florida State
Tyler Sell Fr. Literature Florida State
Mark Weber So. Sport Management Florida State
Anton Lagerqvist ^ Fr. Industrial Engineering Georgia Tech
Brandon Makinson @^ So. Aerospace Engineering Georgia Tech
Zach Tillman Jr. Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Georgia Tech
Mitchell Challacombe # Sr. Business Management Maryland
Matt Meserole Fr. Business Management Maryland
Andrew Relihan ^ Jr. Elementary Education Maryland
Sean Stewart @ Jr. Business Management Maryland
Samuel Dorman Fr. Mechanical Engineering Miami
Colin Bridier Jr. Exchange Student North Carolina
Robert Grimmett-Norris Sr. Journalism & Mass Communication/History North Carolina
Tyler Harris !%^ Sr. Journalism & Mass Communication North Carolina
Ryland Jones So. Business Administration North Carolina
JT Stilley Fr. Business Administration North Carolina
Jonathan Boffa Fr. Design NC State
Kohl Hurdle Fr. Computer Science NC State
Brandon Kingston @ So. Biological Sciences NC State
Taylor Grey ^ Fr. Undeclared Virginia
David Karasek @ Sr. Commerce Virginia
Bradley Phillips Fr. Undeclared Virginia
Scot Robison @^ Sr. Environmental Science Virginia
Taylor Smith #^ Sr. Commerce Virginia
Matthew Baumler @ Jr. Hospitality Tourism Management Virginia Tech
Ryan Hawkins Fr. Architecture Virginia Tech
Greg Mahon @^ So. University Studies Virginia Tech
Zach McGinnis So. Political Science Virginia Tech
Logan Shinholser @^ So. Biology Virginia Tech
Trey Stewart # Sr. Biochemistry Virginia Tech
Blake Trabuchi-Downey # Jr. Biology Virginia Tech
Nick Tremols Fr. Communications Virginia Tech
John Trope Fr. University Studies Virginia Tech
! denotes 2011 ACC Men's Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year
@ denotes two-time honoree
# denotes three-time honoree
% denotes four-time honoree
^ denotes 2011 All-ACC team member