North Carolina's Chip Peterson Named 2010 ACC Men's Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year

April 13, 2010


GREENSBORO, N.C.--North Carolina junior Chip Peterson was named the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year and headlines a list of 41 student-athletes selected to the ACC Men's Swimming & Diving All-ACC Academic Team, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. Candidates for scholar-athlete of the year must have earned a grade-point-average of 3.0 for each of the last two semesters and for their careers, while All-ACC Academic team members must have earned a 3.0 GPA for the fall semester and maintained a 3.0 for the careers, with selection based on athletic merit.

Peterson won the 1,650-yard freestyle in 14:49.36 at February's ACC Men's Swimming & Diving Championship and was a three-time All-America at last month's NCAA championship. The Pink Knoll Shores, N.C., native placed 12th in the 800-yard freestyle (6:27.85), 13th in the 1,650 free (14:57.43), and 14th in the 500-yard freestyle (4:18.53). Peterson, who ranks in the top-two in school history in three separate freestyle events and qualified for the Olympic Trials in 2008, is a biology major and is scheduled to be inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa honor society. Last year, Peterson was named a third-team College Sports Information Directors of America/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America, and is a three-time All-ACC Academic team pick.

Also highlighting the 2010 edition of the All-ACC Academic squad are Nick McCrory of Duke, who was selected Diver and Freshman of the Year, and Swimmer of the Year Scot Robison of Virginia. McCrory, who is undecided on his major, was the NCAA champion in the platform dive, setting a meet record (534.00) in the event, and was the runner-up in the three-meter dive (459.15). The Chapel Hill, N.C., native was the one-meter (499.95) and platform diving (523.95) champion at the ACC championship, setting league records in each event.

Robison, who was also selected the 2010 ACC Men' Swimming & Diving Championship Most Valuable Performer, was the conference champion in the 50-yard (19.64), 100-yard (42.58), and 200-yard (1:32.45) freestyle events, setting ACC and pool records in the latter event, and took part on four winning relay teams at the championship meet. An environmental science major from Charlotte, N.C., he was a six-time All-America at the NCAA championship, including three first-team nods.

This year's edition of the All-ACC Academic team features 11 student-athletes who are making their second appearance on the list, and five more who were selected for the third time. Ten of 11 league swimming teams are represented, with Virginia Tech pulling in an ACC-best seven picks, followed closely by Duke with six and North Carolina with five. Virginia had four selections and Clemson, Florida State, and Georgia Tech each collected four honorees. Maryland and NC State are represented by three student-athletes each, and Miami has one.

2010 ACC Women's Swimming & Diving All-ACC Academic Team
Name Yr. Major School
Seth Broster So. Chemical Engineering Clemson
Eric Bruck ^ Fr. Mathematical Science Clemson
Christopher Dart @ So. Communications Clemson
Christopher Reinke So. Civil Engineering Clemson
Murrilo Arados @ Sr. Chemistry Duke
David Carlson Sr. Electric & Computer Engineering Duke
David Hahn @ Sr. History Duke
Ben Hwang Fr. Undecided Duke
Nick McCrory ^ Fr. Undecided Duke
Sean Smith Sr. Literature Duke
Robby Hayes @ Jr. Finance Florida State
Rob Holderness ^ Jr. Finance Florida State
Glenn Kalata Sr. Accounting Florida State
Nick Klein Fr. Political Science Florida State
Ilia Ayzenshtok @ Jr. Management Georgia Tech
Jeffrey Phillps Jr. Industrial Engineering Georgia Tech
Brandon Makinson Fr. Aerospace Engineering Georgia Tech
Matthew Tang @ Jr. Management Georgia Tech
Mitchell Challacombe @ Jr. Supply Chain Management Maryland
Alex Damjanic # Sr. Government & Politics Maryland
Ryan Greene Sr. Marketing Maryland
Reuben Ross #^ Sr. Civil Engineering Miami
Andrew Brake @ Jr. English North Carolina
Tyler Harris #^ Jr. Journalism & Mass Communication North Carolina
Jeff James Sr. Journalism & Mass Communication North Carolina
Joe Kinderwater #^ Jr. Exercise & Sport Science North Carolina
Chip Peterson !#^ Jr. Biology North Carolina
Brandon Kingston Fr. Biomedical Engineering NC State
Travis Martinez Sr. Environmental Technology NC State
Matt Voell Fr. Management NC State
Dan Johnson Sr. Civil Engineering Virginia
Scot Robison ^ Jr. Environmental Science Virginia
Taylor Smith @^ Jr. Commerce Finance & Information Technology Virginia
Garrett Wren Sr. Chemistry/Biochemistry Virginia
Matthew Baumler So. Business Virginia Tech
Karl Botha Fr. University Studies Virginia Tech
Jonathan Huss @ Sr. Hospitality & Tourism Management Virginia Tech
Greg Mahon ^ Fr. University Studies Virginia Tech
Greg Morgan So. University Studies Virginia Tech
Logan Shinholser Fr. Biology Virginia Tech
Blake Trabuchi-Downey @ So. Biology Virginia Tech

! denotes 2010 ACC Men's Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year
@ denotes two-time honoree
# denotes three-time honoree
^ denotes 2010 All-ACC team member