ACC Recognizes 2011 Men's And Women's Swimming & Diving Annual Award Recipients

March 30, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. - The Atlantic Coast Conference has honored seven individuals as recipients of the 2011 ACC Swimming & Diving annual awards, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. Virginia garnered four accolades as Matt McLean was named Men's Swimmer of the Year for the second time, while Lauren Perdue was selected Women's Swimmer of the Year. Their coach, Mark Bernardino, garnered both the Men's and Women's Coach of the Year honors. Duke swept the diving awards for the second consecutive year as Nick McCrory was tabbed Men's Diver of the Year, and Abby Johnston was named Women's Diver of the Year. North Carolina claimed both Freshman of the Year honors as Dan O'Connor garnered the men's award and Stephanie Peacock earned the women's. The awards were determined by a vote of the league's head coaches.

Virginia's Lauren Perdue

McLean became Virginia's third individual national champion, taking top honors in the 500-yard freestyle at the 2011 NCAA Men's Swimming & Diving Championship. He registered a time of 4:10.15 en route to his first career national title. The senior from Sterling, Va., earned All-America status in two more events, posting fourth-place finishes in both the 200- and 1650-yard freestyle events with times of 14:39.62 and 1:33.22, respectively. He also swam on the 800-yard freestyle relay, which took second, and the 400-yard freestyle relay, which took sixth, to garner additional All-America honors. At the ACC Championship in February, McLean collected his third ACC Meet Most Valuable Swimmer accolade in four years. He took top honors with `A' cuts in both the 500- and 1650-yard freestyle events, while also swimming the lead leg on the Cavaliers' victorious 800-yard freestyle relay and anchoring the winning 400-yard freestyle relay. His league title in the 500 freestyle was his fourth consecutive. McLean was previously named Men's Swimmer of the Year in 2008.

McCrory collected his second consecutive national championship in platform diving at the 2011 NCAA Men's Swimming & Diving Championship. He scored 548.90 points in the final round, besting his own NCAA championship record of 530.45 from one year ago. The sophomore from Chapel Hill, N.C., rounded out his appearance in the national meet with fourth-place finishes in both the one- and three-meter diving events to garner All-America honors. McCrory also won back-to-back men's one- and three-meter diving titles at the ACC Championship in February. His mark of 475.80 in the three-meter bested ACC championship, conference and Georgia Tech Aquatic Center records, while his score of 440.30 in the one-meter set a Georgia Tech Aquatic Center record. McCrory claimed both Men's Diver and Men's Freshman of the Year accolades last season, becoming Duke's first recipient of either award.

O'Connor becomes the fourth North Carolina student-athlete to be named Men's Freshman of the Year and the first since Hank Browning in 2006. Competing in his first NCAA Men's Swimming & Diving Championship, the freshman from Syracuse, N.Y., finished 13th in the 1650-yard freestyle to garner honorable mention All-America accolades. His time of 14:56.93 improved upon his career best set in February by more than nine seconds. O'Connor registered a 1000-yard split time of 9:03.44, another new personal best. He is now the third-fastest performer in program history in both events.

Perdue collected All-America accolades in the 50- and 200-yard freestyle events, while also earning honorable mention in the 100-yard freestyle. Her time of 1:42.51 in the 200 was good for second, while her 22.32 in the 50 took eighth. She was also part of the 800-yard freestyle relay that finished sixth to garner All-America status, while competing with the 400- (10th) and 200-yard (12th) freestyle relays that earned honorable mention as well. The sophomore from Greenville, N.C., captured her second consecutive Most Valuable Swimmer honor at the ACC Championship. Perdue won both the 100- and 200-yard freestyle events, registering ACC championship and conference records in both en route to a unanimous selection. She raced to a 47.88 clip in the 100-yard freestyle, while her time of 1:43.73 in the 200-yard freestyle was also an `A' cut. Additionally, she helped the Cavaliers to a sweep of all three freestyle relay events. Perdue garnered Women's Freshman of the Year honors last season.

Johnston became Duke's first women's individual swimming & diving national champion, taking top honors in the three-meter dive with a score of 409.35 at the 2011 NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving Championship. She was the only diver to surpass 400 points on the three-meter springboard and received the highest points awarded on her first dive of the finals. Johnston also claimed All-America status in one-meter diving for the third consecutive season, taking fifth place with a score of 324.30. The junior from Upper Arlington, Ohio, successfully defended her women's one- and three-meter diving titles at the ACC Championship in February, while besting her own league championship record in the one-meter with a score of 361.85. Her scores in the one-meter and three-meter (429.05) both set Georgia Tech Aquatic Center records. Johnston captured her second consecutive Women's Diver of the Year accolade after becoming Duke's first recipient of the award last season.

Peacock is the fifth Women's Freshman of the Year from North Carolina and the second in the last three years. The freshman from Cape Coral, Fla., captured honorable mention All-America accolades in the 500-yard freestyle at the NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving Championship with a 15th place finish. Peacock won the 500-yard freestyle at the ACC Championship, posting an NCAA automatic-qualifying time of 4:36.86. The mark also set both ACC championship and conference records. She picked up additional All-ACC accolades in the 200-yard freestyle, finishing third with a time of 1:46.35.

Bernardino was honored as both the Men's and Women's Coach of the Year for the fourth consecutive season. The men's coach of the year accolade is his fourth straight and 17th overall, while the women's honor is his fourth straight and 12th overall. This season he guided the men's squad to its fourth-straight ACC championship and 14th overall, including 12 of the last 13 league crowns. The women's squad claimed its fourth consecutive conference title and ninth overall, having won six league championships since 2003. Bernardino and Virginia wrapped up the season with their 15th-straight appearance at the NCAA Championships. Both the men's and women's squads recorded the best finish among league teams. The men registered their highest finish in program history, coming in at eighth with a program-best 200 points. The squad posted a top-10 finish for a program-record third consecutive year. The women placed 13th with 105 points, finishing among the top-20 for the fourth-straight season. Virginia's men wrapped up the dual meet season with an 8-1 (3-0 ACC) record and No. 12 ranking in the Division I Poll, while the women finished 6-2 (3-0 ACC) with a No. 11 ranking.

This year's winners achieved All-ACC honors with a first, second, or third-place individual performance or a first-place relay performance at the ACC championship, and earned All-America accolades by placing in the top eight (first-team) or top-16 (honorable mention) in either individual or relay events at the NCAA championships.

Duke's Nick McCrory

Duke's Abby Johnston

North Carolina's Dan O'Connor

North Carolina's Stephanie Peacock