ACC Announces 2012 Swimming & Diving Annual Award Recipients

March 29, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – The Atlantic Coast Conference has honored eight individuals as recipients of the 2012 ACC Swimming & Diving annual awards, announced today by the conference office. The awards were determined by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Virginia Tech garnered three accolades as Logan Shinholser and Kaylea Arnett swept the diving honors for the Hokies and Ned Skinner was named the Men’s Coach of the Year. Florida State’s Mateo De Angulo and Juan Sequera were named the Men’s Swimmer of the Year and the Men’s Freshman of the Year, respectively. North Carolina’s Stephanie Peacock is the Women’s Swimmer of the Year and her coach, Rich DeSelm, was named Women’s Coach of the Year. Virginia’s Ellen Williamson was honored with the Women’s Freshman of the Year title.

A senior distance freestyler, De Angulo is the first Seminole to be named Swimmer of the Year since 1999. The Cali, Colombia, native took home conference titles in the 500- and 1650-yard freestyles and finished second in the 400 IM en route to winning Most Valuable Swimmer at the meet. At the NCAA level, he posted two All-America performances with a 10th-place finish in the 500 and a seventh-place finish in the 1650.

At the ACC Championships, Peacock earned Most Valuable Swimmer honors after winning five medals and three individual titles in the 200, 500, and 1650 freestyle, while setting a new meet record in the 500 and a new conference mark in the 1650. The native of Cape Coral, Fla., broke an NCAA record that had stood for 22 years and won the national title in the 1650, and finished in third in the 500 at the NCAA Championships.

Shinholser was named the Most Valuable Diver at the ACC Championships after winning both the 1- and 3-meter titles and finishing in second on the platform by less than a point. At the NCAA Championships, the Burtonsville, Md., native tallied 39 points for the Hokies with top-eight performances in all three diving events. He is the first Virginia Tech men’s diver to earn the award.

Arnett, a freshman from Spring, Tex., was victorious in the 1-meter, finished fifth in the 3-meter, and earned bronze on the platform at her first ACC Championships. At the NCAA Championships, she earned All-America honors with an 11th-place finish in the 1-meter and a sixth-place performance on the platform.

Sequera, a native of Miami, Fla., earned All-ACC honors with bronze medals in the 200 breast and the 400 IM. He finished his freshman season by swimming in the 200 IM, 400 IM, and 200 breast at the NCAA Championships.

In her first year swimming for the Cavaliers, Williamson won three individual medals at the ACC Championships. The Ft. Mitchell, Ky., native earned All-America honors and was the top finisher in the conference in the 200 IM and the 200 back at the NCAA Championships, and she swam on Virginia’s 800-yard freestyle relay squad that finished in ninth.

The first Virginia Tech coach to win Coach of the Year honors, Skinner led the Hokie men to their highest finish in program history at both the ACC and NCAA Championships. At the conference meet, Virginia Tech battled four-time defending champion Virginia to the end and finished in second. On the national stage, Virginia Tech scored 55 points for 18th place. Hokie men swimmers and divers posted 13 All-ACC and six All-America performances.

DeSelm, the first Women’s Coach of the Year for the Tar Heels since 2007, led North Carolina to a second-place finish at the ACC Championships. At the NCAA Championships, the Tar Heels scored 44 points to come in 19th. North Carolina women swimmers and divers combined for 10 All-ACC and four All-America performances.