2011 ACC Men's Swimming Championship Gets Underway Wednesday in Atlanta

Feb. 21, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Swimming Championship is scheduled to kick off Wednesday, Feb. 23 and will conclude Saturday, Feb. 26 at the Georgia Tech Aquatic Center in Atlanta, Ga. This marks the third year and first since 2008 that the championship will be held in Atlanta. The four-day event comes just days after the conclusion of the 2011 ACC Women’s Swimming & Diving Championship, where Virginia claimed its fourth consecutive title and ninth overall.

Live coverage of the finals will be available on the ACC Network on theACC.com Thursday through Saturday from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. All championship information can be found at the official championship website, http://www.theacc.com/championships/11-swimming-diving-championship.html. Fans may also follow the action on Facebook and Twitter (@theaccchamps).

Conference swimmers will not only have the opportunity to showcase their abilities within the conference, but they will also have a chance to improve upon NCAA ‘B’ qualifying times, or clock an NCAA ‘A’ time, earning an automatic bid to the 2011 NCAA Men’s Swimming & Diving Championship.

Virginia (3-0) and Florida State (2-0) finished tied atop the conference standings as both teams went unbeaten in ACC competition. The Cavaliers did hold a slight edge in overall records, having compiled an 8-1 mark to the Seminoles’ 7-2 ledger. North Carolina claimed third with a 4-1 league record, but matched Virginia with the best overall finish, 8-1. NC State (6-3, 3-3 ACC) and Clemson (6-3, 2-2 ACC) tied for fourth, followed by Duke in sixth (3-4, 1-3 ACC). Georgia Tech (5-6, 0-3 ACC) and Maryland (2-8, 0-3 ACC) rounded out the conference standings. Virginia Tech (5-2) and Boston College (13-9) did not compete in a league meet this season.

Defending champion Virginia is not only seeking its fourth consecutive ACC Men’s Swimming & Diving title, but also looks to claim its 12th in the last 13 years and 14th overall. All of the Cavaliers’ crowns have come under head coach Mark Bernardino. Florida State aims to collect its first title. North Carolina has won at least a share of 17 championships but is in the hunt for its first under head coach Rich DeSelm. The Tar Heels last brought home the trophy in 1998. NC State leads all ACC teams with at least a share of 24 crowns.

Host institutions have claimed 22 league crowns since 1954, including Virginia in 2004, the last team to accomplish the feat.

Last week’s ACC Women’s Swimming & Diving and Men’s Diving Championships saw 10 championship meet and six overall conference marks fall. Four swimmers also raced to ‘A’ times in five events. In men’s diving action, Duke sophomore Nick McCrory successfully defended his one- and three-meter diving titles. He also set championship and conference records in the three meter en route to his second-straight Most Valuable Men’s Diver honor. Virginia Tech sophomore Logan Shinholser won the platform dive.

Following the championships, the top-three finishers in each event and each first-place relay team will earn All-ACC honors.