Tar Heels Hold Slim Lead After First Day of 2010 ACC Men's Swimming & Diving Championship

Feb. 24, 2010

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - North Carolina and Virginia each set pool records and the Cavaliers hit a national qualifying "A" cut on the first day of the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Swimming & Diving Championship at Koury Natatorium on the University of North Carolina campus. The Tar Heels hold a slim, one-point advantage over Virginia after the first day of competition.

The Virginia 800-yard freestyle relay team punched its ticket to the 2010 NCAA Championship with a national qualifying "A" cut and Koury Natatorium-record setting time of 6:19.23. The Cavaliers trailed North Carolina by .29 seconds through the first 400 yards of the race, but junior Scot Robison battled back during the third leg to give Virginia the lead for good, as senior John Azar, and juniors Taylor Smith, Robison, and Matt McLean earned earned the Cavaliers' 11th consecutive 800-yard freestyle relay title.

In the first event of the evening, the Tar Heels claimed the school's first 200-yard medley relay title since 1996 and set a pool record in the process. Juniors Josh Hafkin, Vinny Pryor, and Tommy Wyher, and sophomore Steve Cebertowicz teamed to clock a time of 1:26.63, finishing exactly one second ahead of Florida State and Virginia, who tied for second place (1:27.63).

Both first-place relay squads earned All-ACC recognition.

After one day of competition, North Carolina (74) leads Virginia (73), followed by Florida State (65). In fourth place is Virginia Tech (54) then Georgia Tech and Clemson are tied (52), followed by Duke (50), Maryland (48), NC State (22) and Boston College (18).

The 2010 ACC Men's Swimming Championship will continue tomorrow (Thurs., Feb. 24) with preliminary events beginning at 11 a.m. and finals events following at 7 p.m. Tomorrow's lineup includes the 50 and 500-yard freestyles, 200-yard individual medley, and 200-yard freestyle relay.

Coverage can be seen live on theACC.com Thursday, Friday, and Saturday beginning at 7 p.m. Evan Lepler and former North Carolina head swimming & diving coach Frank Comfort have tomorrow's call. Follow all the 2010 Men's Swimming Championship action at the official championship website.