Sixteen ACC Men Selected to Tewaaraton Watch List

Lacrosse’s top honor to be announced on May 28

NEW YORK – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2015 Tewaaraton Award men’s watch list, with 16 ACC student-athletes recognized. The list includes the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the 2015 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour.

The 16 league representatives are more than twice as many as from any other conference. Notre Dame and Syracuse tied for the national lead with four players from each team named to the watch list.

ACC student-athletes have won five times in the 14-year history of the award. Past winners include Virginia’s Chris Rotelli in 2003, Virginia’s Matt Ward in 2006, Duke’s Matt Danowski in 2007, Duke’s Ned Crotty in 2010, and Virginia’s Steele Stanwick in 2011. Syracuse has had an additional three players win the award.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch lists additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 19 and April 9. On April 23, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions. Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 7 and invited to the ceremony. The Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., on May 28, 2015, at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian.

ACC Student-Athletes on the Tewaaraton Men’s Watch List

Deemer Class, Duke - Jr., M
Myles Jones, Duke - Jr., M
Jimmy Bitter, North Carolina - Sr., A
Joey Sankey, North Carolina - Sr., A
Chad Tutton, North Carolina - Sr., M
Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame - Jr., A
Matt Landis, Notre Dame - Jr., D
Jack Near, Notre Dame - Sr., M
Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame - So., M
Dylan Donahue, Syracuse - Jr., A
Brandon Mullins, Syracuse - Jr., D
Kevin Rice, Syracuse - Sr., A
Randy Staats, Syracuse - Sr., A
James Pannell, Virginia - Jr., A
Ryan Tucker, Virginia - Sr., M
Zed Williams, Virginia - So., M