Six From ACC Among 10 Tewaaraton Award Finalists


WASHINGTON ( – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the men’s and women’s finalists for the 2015 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. Five men and five women were selected as finalists and will be invited to Washington, D.C., for the 15th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on May 28, 2015.

The five men’s finalists are University of Denver attackman Wesley Berg, Duke University midfielder Myles Jones, University of Notre Dame attackman Matt Kavanagh, Syracuse University attackman Kevin Rice and University at Albany attackman Lyle Thompson.

The five women’s finalists are Boston College midfielder Sarah Mannelly, University of Notre Dame defender Barbara Sullivan, Syracuse University attacker Kayla Treanor, University of Maryland midfielder Taylor Cummings and University of Florida midfielder Shannon Gilroy.

Cummings, the 2014 women’s recipient, and Thompson, the 2014 co-winner along with his brother, return as finalists for a second consecutive year, as do Gilroy and Treanor. All 10 finalists will compete in this month’s NCAA lacrosse championships, at the conclusion of which the selection committees will vote on and select this year’s winners.

“These 10 finalists have been chosen among many worthy candidates by the game’s top coaches on the Tewaaraton selection committees,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “Our board congratulates each of them and their teams for their accomplishments to date. We look forward to welcoming this group of special individuals to Washington, D.C., on May 28.”

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. Finalists come from a pool of 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. The selection committees are comprised of 15 men’s and 14 women’s current and former college coaches.

Brief bios of the men’s finalists from ACC:

Duke’s Myles Jones collected All-ACC honors for a second consecutive year, becoming the first midfielder in program history to eclipse 70 points in a season. The nation’s second-leading scoring midfielder, Jones paces the Blue Devils with 36 assists and 75 points, and his 4.56 points per game ranked third in the conference. He has registered a hat trick in nine of his 16 outings and has scored at least five points nine times. The junior from Huntington, N.Y., would be Duke’s third Tewaaraton winner, joining Matt Danowski (2007) and Ned Crotty (2010).

Notre Dame junior attackman Matt Kavanagh leads the Irish in scoring with 26 goals, 24 assists and 50 points through the regular season. The Rockville Centre, N.Y., native earned All-ACC accolades for a second consecutive season, and ranks among the conference’s statistical leaders in assists per game (fourth, 2.20) and points per game (sixth, 4.30). He lifted the Irish to the ACC regular-season crown with two late goals in a memorable home win over North Carolina, and helped Notre Dame to the NCAA tournament’s No. 1 seed. Kavanagh joins Tom Glatzel (2001) as Notre Dame’s second Tewaaraton finalist, and would be the Irish’s first winner.

Syracuse attackman Kevin Rice, the ACC Offensive Player of the Year, tops the conference in points per game (4.85), assists per game (2.77) and game-winning goals (5). The senior from Skaneateles, N.Y., leads the Orange with 68 points and 39 assists, and earned his second consecutive all-conference selection. He scored 11 points in two games, including the semifinal game-winner, to claim ACC Championship MVP honors as Syracuse claimed the program’s first league title. His per-game averages for assists and points rank third and sixth in the nation, respectively. Rice looks to join Michael Powell (2002, 2004) and Mike Leveille (2008) as Syracuse’s Tewaaraton Award winners.

Brief bios of the women’s finalists from ACC:

Junior Sarah Mannelly helped Boston College to a 15-3 record and the program’s highest-ever seed in the NCAA tournament (No. 5). The midfielder and team captain from New Canaan, Conn., earned her second career All-ACC selection, one of three Eagles to garner first-team honors. The first Tewaaraton finalist in Boston College program history, Mannelly’s 49 goals and 20 caused turnovers rank first on the team, while she is also in the squad’s top two in points (66), ground balls (30) and caused turnovers (20).

Notre Dame defender Barbara Sullivan rebounded after missing nearly the entire 2014 season with injury to claim ACC Defensive Player of the Year honors. She leads the Irish with 41 ground balls, paces the ACC with 34 caused turnovers, and has set school single-season and career records with 73 and 194 draw controls, respectively. The senior from Garden City, N.Y., was named to the All-ACC First Team and ACC All-Tournament Team as the Irish earned a spot in the NCAA tournament. Sullivan is Notre Dame’s first Tewaaraton finalist since Jillian Byers in 2009, and would be the program’s first winner.

Syracuse attacker Kayla Treanor, the ACC Offensive Player of the Year and ACC Tournament Most Outstanding Player, is a Tewaaraton finalist for a second consecutive season. The junior from Niskayuna, N.Y., leads the Orange with 53 goals and ranks second on the squad with 27 assists, 80 points, 26 ground balls and 15 caused turnovers. She ranks second in the conference in both points and assists, and her five game-winning goals, including two in the ACC Tournament, are best in the conference. A first team All-ACC performer and U.S. Women’s National Team member, Treanor scored the double-overtime game-winner to lift the sixth-seeded Orange to its first ACC Championship. She would be the program’s first Tewaaraton Award winner.

The guidelines for finalists and recipient selections are as follows:

  • Finalists will be the best five players chosen without regard to institution
  • Finalists will be selected based on individual performance and a player’s contribution to the success of their team.
  • Finalists are chosen based on the current year’s regular season performance (date of selection is at the conclusion of regular season and before playoffs).
  • Recipients are chosen based on current year’s regular season and playoff performance.
  • Sportsmanship can play a role in the selection process and it is important that the recipient upholds the mission and values of the Tewaaraton Award.


About The Tewaaraton Foundation

The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage and is endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse. The Tewaaraton Foundation is a non-profit that defines the mission and upholds the integrity of The Tewaaraton Award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, visit

About Under Armour, Inc.

Under Armour (NYSE: UA), the originator of performance footwear, apparel and equipment, revolutionized how athletes across the world dress. Designed to make all athletes better, the brand’s innovative products are sold worldwide to athletes at all levels. The Under Armour Connected Fitness™ platform powers the world’s largest digital health and fitness community through a suite of applications: UA Record, MapMyFitness, Endomondo and MyFitnessPal. The Under Armour global headquarters is in Baltimore, Md. For further information, please visit the company’s website at