Six ACC Teams Set to Compete in NCAA Cross Country Championship Saturday

Syracuse and NC State capture regional titles in men’s competition
NC State tops field in women’s Southeast Regional

GREENSBORO, N.C. - The Atlantic Coast Conference will be well represented at this weekend’s NCAA Cross Country Championships, with six teams participating – three each in men’s and women’s. Indiana State University will host the championships, Saturday, November 19, at LaVern Gibson Championship Course at Wabash Valley Family Sport Center in Terre Haute, Indiana. 

Defending national champion Syracuse (Northeast) and NC State (Southeast) earned automatic berths to the men’s championship after claiming regional titles. Virginia also earned a berth in the 31-team field with a runner-up finish to the Wolfpack.

The fifth-ranked Orange, led by individual champion Justyn Knight and runner-up Colin Bennie, captured the Northeast Regional by 36 points over Iona. NC State, paced by top-10 finishers George Parsons (4th) and Aubrey Myjer (10th), claimed the Southeast Regional title by a 15-point margin over Virginia (90-to-105).

ACC teams qualifying for the women’s championship are NC State, Louisville and Notre Dame.

The Wolfpack, paced by four top-15 performances, captured the Southeast Regional title by a 110-point margin over Louisville. NC State senior Erika Kemp led all ACC individuals with a second-place finish, completing the 6k course in 20:19.0, while Ryen Frazier, Rachel Koon and Alyssa Rudawsky placed 10-11-12.

Notre Dame, led by ACC champion Anna Rohrer’s second-place finish, qualified with a runner-up finish in the Great Lakes Regional.

ACC Individuals who earned automatic bids to advance to the NCAA Championship are Louisville’s Edwin Kibichliy, Florida State’s Harry Mulenga and Boston College’s Sean Burke. On the women’s side, Pittsburgh’s Gillian Schiever, Boston College’s Isabelle Kennedy, Florida State’s Carmela Cardama Baez and Clemson’s Grace Barnett will also compete this weekend.

The women’s race will begin at 11 a.m. Eastern Time, followed by the men’s race at approximately noon Eastern Time. A live webcast of the championships will be broadcast from 11 a.m. Eastern Time until the conclusion of the awards ceremony, Saturday, November 19, on