Six ACC Players Named to Mackey Award Midseason Watch List

PHOTO: Louisville Cardinals tight end Gerald Christian (18) runs the ball against the Wake Forest Demon Deacons during the second half at Papa John's Cardinal Stadium. Louisville defeated Wake Forest 20-10.
Mandatory Credit: Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

Total is Most of Any Conference Nationally

GREENSBORO, N.C – The Atlantic Coast Conference had six players named to the John Mackey Award Mid-Season Watch List announced Monday by the Mackey Award Selection Committee.

The total of honorees is the highest of any FBS Conference.

Named to the 33-man Watch List from the ACC are Gerald Christian (Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.), a senior from Louisville; David Grinnage (Newark, Del.), a sophomore from NC State; Bucky Hodges (Virginia Beach, Va.), a redshirt freshman from Virginia Tech; Nick O’Leary (Palm Beach, Fla.), a senior from Florida State; Cam Serigne (Ashburn, Va.), a redshirt freshman from Wake Forest; and Clive Walford (Belle Glade, Fla.), a senior from Miami.

O’Leary, a preseason All-ACC selection, was a finalist for the 2013 Award.

The Mackey Award is presented annually to the nation’s top tight end in the name of NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey, who is considered by many to be the best to have played the tight end position. Mackey, who lettered three years at Syracuse, is a tight end by whom all others are measured. He was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

Two ACC players have previously won the Mackey Award, which began in 2000, in Virginia’s Heath Miller (2004) and Clemson’s Dwayne Allen (2011). Additionally, current ACC member Miami had one of its players selected one year prior to joining the conference in Kellen Winslow II (2003).

The 2014 Mackey Award semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 17, with the finalists announced on Nov. 24. The 2014 recipient will be announced on Dec. 10, and prese