Seventeen from the ACC Selected in the 2016 MLL Collegiate Draft

ACC has six first round picks, including the first three

BALTIMORE, Md. – Led by the No. 1 overall pick Myles Jones of Duke, 17 Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes were selected in the 2016 Major League Lacrosse Draft held Friday at the Baltimore Hilton.

The ACC saw six players selected in the first round, including Jones, who was selected No. 1 by the Atlanta Blaze. The ACC’s six first-round draftees accounted for two thirds of the first round selections, while its 17 picks overall led all conferences. 

All five Atlantic Coast Conference schools saw at least on player drafted, led by Duke, North Carolina and Syracuse who each had four draftees. Virginia followed with three selections and Notre Dame had two players drafted.

Jones, the 2015 Lt. j.g. Donald MacLaughlin Jr. Award winner as the nation’s top midfielder and two-time All-American, led all midfielders a year ago in points with 77 on 40 goals and 37 assists. He was selected as Lacrosse Magazine's 2016 Preseason Player of the Year, and named to Inside Lacrosse's Preseason All-America Team and to the Preseason All-ACC Team.

Following Jones, Syracuse attackman Dylan Donahue went second to Charlotte and Notre Dame defenseman Matt Landis went third to Florida. Irish teammate attackman Matt Kavanagh was selected fifth overall by Denver and Virginia midfielder Greg Coholan went sixth to Boston. Syracuse defenseman Brandon Mullins capped the ACC’s first-round selections when he went ninth to Boston. 

The second round saw Duke midfielder Deemer Class go Atlanta with the first pick of the round (10th overall), while teammate Colin Woodward was picked second in the third round (20th overall) by Charlotte. 

Two more from the ACC were taken in the third round with Virginia midfielder James Pannell selected by New York with the 24th overall pick and North Carolina attackman Steve Pontrello picked 25th by Florida. 

Two pairs of ACC players went in the fifth and sixth rounds with Syracuse goalie Warren Hill (36th overall) and North Carolina midfielder Jake Mattahi (41st overall) going to Atlanta and Boston, respectively, and Syracuse midfielder Tim Barber and North Carolina defenseman Zack Powers selected with the 48th and 50th picks by Denver and Ohio, respectively. 

Three picks in the top part of the seventh round rounded out the ACC’s selections in the draft. Atlanta picked Duke attackman Case Matheis with the first pick of the round (53rd overall), North Carolina defenseman Evan Connell went to Charlotte with the 54th overall pick and Virginia defenseman Michael Howard was picked 55th overall by Chesapeake. 

The 2016 men’s lacrosse season gets underway in early February. The ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship will be played April 29 - May 1 at Fifth Third Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University in Kennesaw, Georgia. The semifinals are set for Friday, April 29, and the championship for Sunday, May 1. The fifth-place ACC team that does not qualify for the championship will play Brown at Fifth Third Bank Stadium on Saturday, April 30.

2016 MLL Draft
RD, Pick (overall), Team, Player, Position, School
1, 1, Atlanta, Myles Jones, M, Duke 
1, 2, Charlotte, Dylan Donahue, A, Syracuse
1, 3, Florida, Matt Landis, D, Notre Dame
1, 5, Denver, Matt Kavanagh, A, Notre Dame
1, 6, Boston , Greg Coholan, M, Virginia
1, 9, Boston , Brandon Mullins, D, Syracuse
2, 1 (10), Atlanta, Deemer Class, M, Duke
3, 2 (20), Charlotte, Colin Woodward, M, Duke
3, 6 (24), New York, James Pannell, M, Virginia
3, 8 (25), Florida, Steve Pontrello, A North Carolina
5, 1 (36), Atlanta, Warren Hill, GK, Syracuse 
5 , 6 (41), Boston , Jake Matthai, M, North Carolina
6, 5 (48), Denver, Tim Barber, M, Syracuse
6, 8 (50), Ohio, Zack Powers, D, North Carolina
7, 1 (53), Atlanta, Case Matheis, A, Duke
7, 2 (54), Charlotte, Evan Connell, D, North Carolina 
7, 3 (55), Chesapeake, Michael Howard, D, Virginia