Seven ACC Women’s Lacrosse Teams Selected to the NCAA Championship

Five ACC teams among the top eight seeds 

GREENSBORO, N.C. – A league record-tying seven Atlantic Coast Conference women’s lacrosse programs were among the 26 selected to compete in the 2015 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship, as announced Sunday evening. Five of the ACC’s seven teams in the NCAA Championship are among the top eight seeds. 

The ACC has had at least four teams in the NCAA Tournament in 11 consecutive years and in 16 of the 19 years that the league has sponsored the sport. The ACC leads all leagues for the most bids of any conference in the nation, and the seven teams matches its total selections from the 2014 season.

North Carolina (15-3), the No. 2 seed, earned a bid for the 11th consecutive year and the 17th time overall. The Tar Heels are a top-four seed for the seventh year in a row and will open NCAA Championship play on Sunday, May 10 when they host the winner of Stanford and Florida in the second round.  

Duke (14-4), the No. 3 seed, is making its 18th consecutive postseason appearance. The Blue Devils will host the winner of James Madison and USC on Sunday, May 10. The Blue Devils have a 2-0 mark in the second round of the NCAA Tournament and are 21-17 all-time in the event with six appearances in the national semifinals.

ACC Champion Syracuse (14-7), the No. 4 seed, earned its 13th overall trip to the NCAA Championship. The Orange will play the winner of Penn and Albany in the second round on May 10.

No. 5 seed Boston College (15-3) earned its fourth NCAA Championship berth in program history and will host the winner of Loyola (Md.) and Bryant on May 10.

Virginia (11-6), the No. 7 seed, will host Winthrop in the first round on Friday, May 8. The Cavaliers are in the tournament for 20th consecutive season and 28th overall in the tournament. Virginia owns a 33-24 overall record with three national championships. 

Notre Dame (10-8) earned its 10th overall selection to the NCAA Championship, and will face Ohio State in the first round on Friday, May 8 at Evanston, Illinois. Louisville (10-7) will also play a first round game at Evanston, Illinois, on Friday when it meets No. 8 seed Northwestern. The Cardinals are returning to the NCAA Tournament after making their first appearance in 2014.

ACC squads finished the season with a 57-15 mark against nonconference opponents and earned 13 wins over ranked teams. The ACC owns 15 national championships in the 33-year history of the sport.

The top eight seeds will host first and second round games with the top six teams receiving byes. The tournament gets underway Friday, May 8, with the first round and the second round on Sunday, May 10. The quarterfinals are scheduled for May 16 or May 17, also held at campus sites. Saint Joseph’s will host the semifinals on Friday, May 22, and the championship on Sunday, May 24 at PPL Park in Philadelphia.