Seven ACC Teams Selected to the NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship

The ACC gets seven teams in the NCAA Tournament for the third  consecutive year

GREENSBORO, N.C. – A league record-tying seven Atlantic Coast Conference women’s lacrosse programs were among the 26 selected to compete in the 2016 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship, as announced Sunday evening. Three of the ACC’s seven teams in the NCAA Championship are among the top eight seeds. 

The ACC has had at least four teams in the NCAA Tournament in 12 consecutive years and in 17 of the 20 years that the league has sponsored the sport. The ACC leads all leagues for the most bids of any conference in the nation, and the seven teams matches its total selections from the 2014 and 2015 seasons.

North Carolina (16-2), the No. 3 seed, earned a bid for the 12th consecutive year and the 18th time overall. The Tar Heels are a top-four seed for the eighth year in a row and will open NCAA Championship play on Sunday, May 15 when they host the winner of Duke and Loyola in the second round.  

Syracuse (17-5), the No. 4 seed, earned its 14th overall trip to the NCAA Championship. The Orange will play the winner of Boston College and Stony Brook in the second round on May 15.

No. 6 seed Notre Dame (13-6) earned its 11th overall selection to the NCAA Championship, and will face the winner Northwestern and Louisville on Sunday. 

Virginia (9-8) meets John Hopkins at College Park, Maryland, in the first round on Friday, May 13. The Cavaliers are in the tournament for 21st consecutive season and 29th overall. 

Boston College (10-8) earned its fifth NCAA Championship berth in program history and will meet Stony Brook in Syracuse, New York on Friday. The winner advances to play No. 4 seed Syracuse on Sunday.

Duke (10-8) is making its 19th consecutive postseason appearance. The Blue Devils face Loyola on Friday in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, with the winner advancing to play the third-seeded Tar Heels on Sunday. 

Louisville (12-5) will play a first round game at Notre Dame, Indiana, on Friday when it meets Northwestern. The winner moves on to play the No. 6 seed Fighting Irish on Sunday. The at-large berth in the NCAA Tournament marks the Cardinals third straight after making their first appearance in 2014.

The top eight seeds will host first and second round games with the top six teams receiving byes. The tournament gets underway Friday, May 13, with the first round and the second round on Sunday, May 15. The quarterfinals are scheduled for May 21 or May 22, also held at campus sites. Saint Joseph’s will host the semifinals on Friday, May 27, and the championship on Sunday, May 29 at Talen Energy Stadium in Philadelphia.