Seven ACC Teams Earn NCAA Bids

League contingent ties for most in the nation

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Seven Atlantic Coast Conference teams, including two national seeds, will be among the 64-team field when the 2015 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship gets underway with regional play on Friday.

ACC teams that are postseason bound are No. 3 Louisville, No. 5 Miami, Florida State, Clemson, NC State, Notre Dame, and Virginia. The seven league representatives is tied for the most from any conference, and marks the seventh straight year that the ACC has produced at least that many.

The announcement also marks the sixth consecutive year that multiple league teams have been named national seeds.

Florida State will join the Louisville and Miami as regional host sites, as previously announced Sunday night. The Seminoles earned the league’s automatic bid as the ACC Champion and will open tournament play against Mercer. The Cardinals, the only team in the country to reach the College World Series each of the past two seasons, will face Morehead State, while the Hurricanes will play FIU to open regional play.

The two longest all-time tournament streaks were extended this year. The Hurricanes are making their 43rd consecutive regional appearance, while the Seminoles are in for the 38th straight time.

In addition to the three teams named as host sites on Sunday night, four squads earned at-large berths on Monday. Clemson was named to the Fullerton Regional and will open with Arizona State. NC State will travel to Fort Worth, Texas, and face Stony Brook. Notre Dame, which earned its first bid since 2006, is matched up with Wright State in the Champaign Regional. Virginia, the national runner-up from 2014, is in the Lake Elsinore Regional and will open play against USC on Friday.

2015 will be Florida State’s 53rd trip to the postseason and the 44th for Miami, the second and third most, respectively, in Division I history. Clemson has the fifth-most appearances nationally with 40. NC State is making its 27th trip to the postseason, followed by Notre Dame (22), Virginia (15), and Louisville (9).

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 29, to Monday, June 1 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced at approximately 11 p.m. ET June 1.

The 69th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 13, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

2015 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship (all times Eastern)
Regionals with ACC teams 

Champaign Regional hosted by Illinois
#1 *Illinois (47-8-1) vs. #4 Ohio (36-19), 8 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN
#2 Notre Dame (36-21) vs. #3 Wright St. (41-15), 1 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN 

Coral Gables Regional hosted by Miami 
#1 *Miami (FL) (44-14) vs. #4 FIU (29-29), 7 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN
#2 East Carolina (40-20) vs. #3 Columbia (31-15), 1 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN

Fort Worth Regional hosted by TCU
#1 *TCU (43-11) vs. #4 Sacred Heart (23-30-1), 7 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN
#2 North Carolina St. (34-21) vs. #3 Stony Brook (34-14-1), 2:30 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN 

Fullerton Regional hosted by Cal. St. Fullerton
#1 *Cal St. Fullerton (34-22) vs. #4 Pepperdine (30-27), 10 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN
#2 Arizona St. (34-21) vs. #3 Clemson (32-27), 6 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN 

Lake Elsinore, California hosted by UC Santa Barbara
#1 *UC Santa Barbara (40-15-1) vs. #4 San Diego St. (40-21), 10 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN
#2 Southern California (37-19) vs. #3 Virginia (34-22), 6 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN 

Louisville Regional hosted by Louisville
#1 *Louisville (43-16) vs. #4 Morehead St. (38-20), 6 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN
#2 Bradley (35-19) vs. #3 Michigan (37-23), 2 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN 

Tallahassee Regional hosted by Florida State
#1 *Florida St. (41-19) vs. #4 Mercer (35-21), 6 p.m., ESPN3/WatchESPN
#2 Col. of Charleston (43-13) vs. #3 Auburn (35-24), Noon, ESPN3/WatchESPN