Seeds Announced for ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship

North Carolina earns No. 1 seed 

GREENSBORO, N.C. – North Carolina holds the top seed for the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Championship, which gets underway Thursday, April 28 at Virginia Tech’s Lane Stadium in Blacksburg, Virginia. 

The Tar Heels (7-0, 13-2 ACC) will play No. 8 seed Virginia Tech (5-12, 0-7 ACC) in the first game of the tournament on Thursday at Noon. North Carolina topped the Hokies 15-6, in both teams’ regular-season meeting on March 30. 

Other quarterfinal matchups include No. 2 seed Syracuse (13-4, 5-2 ACC) playing No. 7 seed Boston College  (10-7, 2-5 ACC), No. 3  Notre Dame (11-5, 4-3 ACC) against No. 6 Louisville  (11-4, 3-4 ACC) and No. 4 Duke  (9-7, 4-3 ACC) taking on No. 5 Virginia  (9-7, 3-4 ACC).

Duke and Virginia will meet following the conclusion of the North Carolina-Virginia Tech game at approximately 2:30 p.m. 

The Boston College – Syracuse game is slated for a 5 p.m. start, while Notre Dame and Louisville will close out quarterfinal action at approximately 7:30 p.m.

The four winners will meet in the semifinals on Friday, April 29 at 5 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., and the ACC Championship title game is set for Sunday, May 1 at 1 p.m. 

All seven games of the tournament will be televised on the ACC’s Regional Sports Networks (RSN) and will also be available on ESPN3.