Olympic Swimming and Diving Field Boasts 22 ACC Athletes

Fourteen Countries Represented in Competition

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Olympic swimming and diving field for the 2016 Rio Summer Games will feature 22 current or former ACC athletes, representing 14 countries. 

Louisville has the most representation among ACC schools in the games with seven athletes, followed by NC State with four and Georgia Tech with three.

The ACC men’s and women’s swimmers of the year -- Simonas Bilis (NC State) and Kelsi Worrell (Louisville) -- will be representing Lithuania and the United States, respectively.  

Joining Worrell in representing Team USA will be NC State’s Ryan Held (4x100 freestyle relay), Virginia’s Leah Smith (400m free, 800m free, 4x200 free relay). 

The 10-person U.S. Olympic Diving team roster is comprised of three ACC alumni: former Duke star and Olympian Abby Johnston (3m synchronized), former Florida State standout Katrina Young (10m platform) and Sam Dorman (3m synchronized), a Miami alum.  

Joining Johnston and Young as part of their coaching staff in Rio will be current Duke head diving coach Nunzio Esposto. Esposto has previously served as a U.S. National Team coach on several occasions, including at the 2015 FINA World Championships in Kazan, Russia. 

A full list of athletes and their affiliations can be found below. The Rio 2016 Olympic Games begin August 5.

Abby Johnston; USA
Nunzio Esposto; USA

Florida State 
Pavel Sankovich; Belarus
Katrina Young, USA

Georgia Tech
Andrew Chetcuti; Malta
Gal Nevo and Keren Siebner; Israel

Marcelo Acosta; El Salvador
Carlos Claverie; Venezuela
Joao De Lucca; Brazil
Andrea Kneppers; Netherlands
Tanja Kylliainen; Finland
Grigory Tarasevich; Russia
Kelsi Worrell; USA

Heather Arseth; Mauritius
Sam Dorman; USA
Marcela Maric; Croatia

NC State
Simonas Bilis; Lithuania
Soren Dahl and Anton Ipsen; Denmark
Ryan Held; USA

Yannick Kaeser; Switzerland
Leah Smith; USA

Virginia Tech
Reka Gyorgy and Norbert Szabo; Hungary