Notre Dame Women Claim 2016 ACC Title

Championship Page | Women’s Team Results | Men’s Individual Results

Shainberg, Kiefer, French win individual men’s titles

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame claimed the 2016 ACC Women’s Fencing Championship, posting a 3-0 record during the team competition to win the title for the second straight year. The event, held Saturday at the Castellan Family Fencing Center in the Joyce Center Fieldhouse, featured the men’s individual competition in the morning followed by the women’s team event in the afternoon.

The Fighting Irish, who are ranked second nationally, defeated Boston College (21-6), North Carolina (20-7), and Duke (20-7) en route to the championship. Tara Hassett won the deciding point for Notre Dame, which improved to 38-0 on the season.

“The stability was the most important thing for us,” said Notre Dame coach Gia Kvaratskhelia. “No matter how the situation turned, our kids never wavered to that stability and showed that we are a good team. We will see down the road what is going to happen but we are really happy with what we have right now.”

Notre Dame’s Francesca Russo (8-0) posted a perfect sabre record during the team competition, followed by Duke’s Haley Fisher (7-2) and North Carolina’s Meredith Bozentka (7-2). The top three records in foil were by Notre Dame’s Zoe Loh (9-0), Sabrina Massialas (8-1), and Elyssa Kleiner (6-2). Duke’s Camille Esnault (8-1) and Notre Dame’s Catherine Lee (7-2) posted the best épée records.

The Irish foil squad led the way with a combined 24-3 mark against the three opponents, while sabre was 19-8 and épée went 18-9.

The Irish men’s squad started the day with a sweep of the individual titles. In a rematch of last year’s sabre title bout, Notre Dame’s Jonah Shainberg defeated teammate Jonathan Fitzgerald, 15-12. Notre Dame’s Axel Kiefer won the foil title with a 15-7 win over teammate Kristjan Archer, while the Irish’s Dylan French downed Duke’s Dakota Nollner, 15-13, in the épée title bout.

The top two finishers in each weapon automatically earn All-ACC honors.

The championship will continue on Sunday with the women’s individual competition followed by the men’s team event. Live coverage on ESPN3 will start at 12:30 p.m.

Women’s Team Standings
1. Notre Dame (3-0)
2. Duke (2-1)
3. North Carolina (1-2)
4. Boston College (0-3)

Women’s Team Results
Round 1
Notre Dame def. Boston College, 21-6 (S63/F81/E72)
Duke def. North Carolina, 17-10 (S45/F54/E81)

Round 2
Notre Dame def. North Carolina, 20-7 (S63/F72/E72)
Duke def. Boston College, 20-7 (S63/F72/E72)

Round 3
Notre Dame def. Duke, 20-7 (S72/F90/E45)
North Carolina def. Boston College, 17-10 (S45/F81/E54)

Men’s Individual Results
Gold – Jonah Shainberg, Notre Dame
Silver – Jonathan Fitzgerald, Notre Dame
Bronze – Ian Jones, Notre Dame

Gold – Axel Kiefer, Notre Dame
Silver – Kristjan Archer, Notre Dame
Bronze – Virgile Collineau, Notre Dame

Gold – Dylan French, Notre Dame
Silver – Dakota Nollner, Duke
Bronze – Matthew Shlimak, North Carolina