Notre Dame’s Lee Kiefer Named ACC Women’s Fencing Scholar-Athlete of the Year

2014-15 All-ACC Academic Women’s Fencing Team Announced 

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Notre Dame’s Lee Kiefer has been named the 2014-15 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Fencing Scholar-Athlete of the Year and leads the sport’s All-ACC Academic Women’s Fencing Team, as announced Thursday by Commissioner John Swofford.

Kiefer, a junior majoring in science pre-professional studies, led the Irish to the inaugural ACC Women’s Fencing Championship. She posted a 15-0 record before winning the title in the individual competition and was named the Championship MVP for her performance.

A native of Versailles, Kentucky, Kiefer went on to compile a 23-2 record at the NCAA Championship before winning her third consecutive foil title. She was also named the ACC Women’s Foilist of the Year after the season concluded.

The individuals on the 2015 All-ACC Academic Women’s Fencing Team combined to win three ACC titles, two national titles, and four earned All-America honors.

All four schools that compete in fencing are represented on the All-ACC Academic Women’s Fencing Team, led by Notre Dame with five individuals.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports.  Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

All-ACC Academic Women's Fencing Team
Olivia Adragna, Boston College, Jr., Film Studies
Haley Fisher, Duke, Fr., Undeclared
Jennifer Ling, Duke, Fr., Undeclared
Sarah Collins, Duke, Sr., Public Policy Studies
Gillian Litynski, North Carolina, Sr., Nursing and Global Studies
Ashley Severson, Notre Dame, Sr., Political Science
Claudia Kulmacz, Notre Dame, Fr., Undeclared
Francesca Russo, Notre Dame, Fr., Undeclared
Lee Kiefer, Notre Dame, Jr., Science Preprofessional
Nicole Ameli, Notre Dame, Sr., Science Preprofessional

ACC Women’s Fencing Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Lee Kiefer, Notre Dame