Notre Dame Earns No. 1 Seed, Leads Five ACC Teams Into NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament

Notre Dame, Louisville, Syracuse, Florida State and Miami among the field of 64

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Five Atlantic Coast Conference teams are among the 64-team field for the 2016 NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship announced Monday evening. 

ACC Champion Notre Dame (31-1) was selected as a No. 1 seed, Louisville (25-7) a No. 3 seed, Syracuse (25-7) a No. 4 seed, and Florida State (23-7) and Miami (24-8) No. 5 seeds. 

Notre Dame, which will be appearing in the NCAA postseason field for the 21st consecutive year, is the No. 1 seed in the Lexington Region. The Fighting Irish will host No. 16 seed North Carolina A&T (19-11) on Saturday, March 19 at 6:30 p.m. on ESPN2. Notre Dame has advanced to the Final Four each of the last five seasons, seven times overall, and owns the 2001 NCAA Championship. The Fighting Irish will be participating in their 23rd NCAA Championship and own a 51-21 record in the tournament.

Louisville, which is making its sixth straight and 19th overall appearance in the NCAA Tournament, is the No. 3 seed in the Dallas Region. The Cardinals will host No. 14 seed Central Arkansas (23-8) at the KFC Yum! Center on Friday, March 18 at 2:30 p.m. on ESPN2. Louisville has advanced to two Final Fours, three Elite Eights and six Sweet 16s, and owns a 24-18 mark in tournament play.

Earning its fourth straight NCAA Tournament berth and seventh overall is Syracuse, which grabbed the No. 4 seed in the Sioux Falls Region. The Orange hosts No. 13 seed Army (29-2) on Friday at 2:30 p.m. on ESPN2. 

Florida State was awarded a No. 5 seed in the Dallas Region. The Seminoles will face No. 12 seed Middle Tennessee State (24-8) on Saturday in College Station, Texas, at 1:30 p.m. on ESPN2.  Florida State is making its 15th NCAA Championship appearance under head coach Sue Semrau and owns a 17-14 record in NCAA Championship play. The Noles have advanced to the Sweet 16 three times and the Elite Eight twice (2010 and 2015).

Miami, the No. 5 seed in the Lexington Region, earned its 11th NCAA Tournament berth. The Hurricanes face No. 12 seed South Dakota State (26-6) in Stanford, Calif., on Saturday at 6:30 p.m. on ESPN2. 

First- and second-round games will be played at 16 home sites Friday, March 18 through Monday, March 21, with the 16 second-round winners moving on to the four regional sites. The Lexington Regional (Rupp Arena, Lexington, Kentucky) and the Sioux Falls Regional (Denny Sanford Premier Center, Sioux Falls, South Dakota) will be played on Friday, March 25 and Sunday, March 27, while the Bridgeport Regional (Webster Bank Arena, Bridgeport, Connecticut) and the Dallas Regional (American Airlines Center, Dallas) will be held Saturday, March 26 and Monday, March 28. The four regional winners will advance to the 2016 NCAA Women’s Final Four, April 3 and 5 in Indianapolis (Bankers Life Fieldhouse).