Notre Dame Claims Inaugural ACC Women’s Fencing Championship

#ACCFencing Championship Page | Team Results | Individual Results | Photo Gallery

Kiefer, Litynski, and Ameli win individual titles

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – Notre Dame clinched the 2015 ACC Women’s Fencing Championship, posting a 3-0 record during the team competition to claim the title. The event, held Sunday at Carmichael Arena on the campus of the University of North Carolina, marked the first women’s fencing championship in ACC history.

The Fighting Irish, who are ranked second nationally, defeated Boston College (19-8), Duke (19-8), and North Carolina (24-3) en route to the championship. Johanna Thill won the deciding point for Notre Dame, which improved to 32-3 on the season.

Thill (8-1) posted the best sabre record during the team competition, followed by teammates Claudia Kulmacz (7-1) and Francesca Russo (7-1). The top three records in foil went to Notre Dame’s Nicole McKee (6-0), Lee Kiefer (8-1), and Madison Zeiss (8-1). Ashley Severson (8-1) recorded the best mark in épée.

The Irish sabre squad went 25-2 against the competition, while the foil squad was 24-3.

In afternoon action, North Carolina’s Litynski defeated Kulmacz, 15-6, to win the individual sabre title. Notre Dame’s Nicole Ameli won the individual épée championship by downing Severson, 15-7.

Kiefer, who was voted as the Championship MVP, won the foil title by beating McKee, 15-4. A junior from Versailles, Kentucky, Kiefer was 8-1 during the morning’s team competition. In the afternoon, she was a perfect 15-0 before winning both direct elimination bouts to claim the title.  

The top two finishers in each weapon automatically earn All-ACC honors.

Final Women's Team Standings

  1. Notre Dame (3-0)
  2. Duke (2-1)
  3. North Carolina (1-2)
  4. Boston College (0-3)

Women's Team Results

Round 1
Notre Dame def Boston College, 19-8 (S90/F81/E27)
Duke University def UNC Chapel Hill, 14-13 (S54/F54/E45) 

Round 2
Notre Dame def Duke University, 19-8 (S72/F72/E54)
UNC Chapel Hill def Boston College, 17-10 (S72/F63/E45) 

Round 3
Notre Dame def UNC Chapel Hill, 24-3 (S72/F90/E81)
Duke University def Boston College, 18-9 (S90/F54/E45)

Individual Results

Gold – Gill Litynski, North Carolina
Silver – Claudia Kulmacz, Notre Dame
Bronze – Jamie Norville, Notre Dame 

Gold – Lee Kiefer, Notre Dame
Silver – Nicole McKee, Notre Dame
Bronze – Madison Zeiss, Notre Dame

Gold – Nicole Ameli, Notre Dame
Silver – Ashley Severson, Notre Dame
Bronze – Olivia Adragna, Boston College 

Championship MVP
Lee Kiefer, Notre Dame