North Carolina's Loeb Headlines 2015 All-ACC Women's Tennis Team

Miami’s Lohan Named Freshman of the Year; North Carolina’s Kalbas Named Coach of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – North Carolina sophomore Jamie Loeb has been selected the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Tennis Player of the Year and headlines the 2015 All-ACC Team as announced Wednesday.

In addition to Loeb, Tar Heels’ coach Brian Kalbas also took home one of the league’s top honors, as he was named Coach of the Year for the fifth time in his career. Miami’s Sinead Lohan was named the ACC Freshman of the Year.

Loeb, a native of Ossining, New York, has now been named the ACC Player of the Year for the second consecutive year. She is just the third North Carolina student-athlete to earn the award and the seventh multiple-time winner in the history of the conference.

Lohan, the first ever Miami student-athlete to garner ACC Freshman of the Year honors, held a 17-2 overall record in singles and a 10-2 record in ACC singles play. She was ranked in the top 45 of the ITA Rankings all season.

Kalbas, who led the Tar Heels to an undefeated regular season and ACC crown, is the only North Carolina head coach to garner Coach of the Year honors.

Twelve institutions had representatives on the All-ACC team, led by Clemson with four. Duke, North Carolina and Virginia each had three student-athletes honored. Boston College, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Miami, Notre Dame and Virginia Tech each posted two representatives on the team, while Syracuse and Wake Forest rounded out the list with one honoree apiece.

Duke’s Ester Goldfeld was an All-ACC selection for the fourth time in her career, while Virginia’s Julia Elbaba and Stephanie Nauta, Miami’s Stephanie Wagner, Duke’s Beatrice Capra, North Carolina’s Caroline Price, Clemson’s Beatrice Gumulya and Florida State’s Daneika Borthwick all earned honors for the third time. An additional six student-athletes collected All-ACC honors for the second time in their careers


Individual Award Winners

Player of the Year – Jamie Loeb, So., North Carolina
Freshman of the Year – Sinead Lohan, Miami
Coach of the Year – Brian Kalbas, North Carolina

All-ACC First Team

Jamie Loeb @                       So.           North Carolina
Hayley Carter @                  So.           North Carolina
Julia Elbaba #                      Jr.            Virginia
Stephanie Wagner #            Jr.            Miami
Romy Koelzer @                 Sr.           Clemson
Danielle Collins @              Jr.            Virginia
Joana Eidukonyte                Jr.            Clemson
Beatrice Capra #                  Jr.            Duke
Caroline Price #                   Sr.           North Carolina

All-ACC Second Team

Sinead Lohan                        Fr.           Miami
Ester Goldfeld !                   Sr.           Duke
Ilinca Stoica @                     Jr.            Virginia Tech
Quinn Gleason                     Jr.            Notre Dame
Paige Hourigan                    Fr.           Georgia Tech
Beatrice Gumulya #            Sr.           Clemson
Stephanie Nauta   #             Jr.            Virginia
Johnnise Renaud                 Fr.           Georgia Tech
Francesca Fusinato @        So.           Virginia Tech

All-ACC Third Team

Jessica Wacnik @               Sr.           Boston College
Daneika Borthwick #         Sr.           Florida State
Samantha Harris Fr.           Duke
Amanda Rodgers                 Sr.           Syracuse
Jessy Rompies                     Sr.           Clemson
Monica Robinson                So.           Notre Dame
Kimmy Guerin                     So.           Wake Forest
Asiya Dair                             Fr.           Boston College
Gabriella Castaneda            Fr.           Florida State

@ - Two-time honoree
# - Three-time honoree
! – Four-time honoree