North Carolina’s Marie McCool Named ACC Women’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year

ACC’s 2017 All-Academic Team announced

GREENSBORO, N.C. – North Carolina junior Marie McCool has been named the 2017 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year and headlines the All-ACC Academic Women’s Lacrosse Team, as announced Tuesday by Commissioner John Swofford. 

A midfielder from Moorestown, N.J., McCool was a 2017 Tewaaraton Award finalist and a two-time IWLCA first-team All-American. She was named the ACC Midfielder of the Year and ranked second on the team in goals with 50 on the season. She is a two-time All-ACC first-team and All-Tournament team honoree and is one of only two current college players on the 2017 US Lacrosse World Cup team.  

All eight of the league’s women’s lacrosse programs are represented on the All-ACC Academic Team, which includes seven student-athletes that earned IWLCA All-America honors in 2017. Fourteen members of the ACC All-Academic Team were named to the All-ACC Team.

Included in the 36-member team are two selections that earned their fourth All-ACC Academic Team honor – Notre Dame’s Alex Dalton and Cortney Fortunato, and four that earned recognition for the third straight year (Duke’s Kyra Harney and Maura Schwitter, Louisville’s Hannah Koloski, and Virginia’s Rachel Vander Kolk). 

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. 

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team. 

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Marie McCool, Jr., North Carolina

2017 Women’s Lacrosse All-ACC Academic Team 
Sam Apuzzo, So., Boston College (Applied Psychology and Human Development and Communication) 
Dempsey Arsenault, So., Boston College (Applied Psychology and Human Development and Communication) 
Kaileen Hart, Jr., Boston College (Marketing) 
Elizabeth Miller, So., Boston College (Finance & Entrepreneurship) 
**Maddie Crutchfield, Jr., Duke (Public Policy Studies) 
***Maura Schwitter, Sr., Duke (Evolutionary Anthropology) 
***Kyra Harney, Jr., Duke (Sociology) 
Olivia Jenner, So., Duke (Public Policy Studies)
***Hannah Koloski, Sr., Louisville (Exercise Science) 
Stephanie McNamara, Sr., Louisville (Communication) 
Maggie Auslander, Sr., North Carolina (Psychology) 
Carly Davis, Sr., North Carolina (Media & Journalism)
Sydney Holman, Sr., North Carolina (Media & Journalism) 
**Marie McCool, Jr., North Carolina (Management & Society) 
**Caylee Waters, Sr., North Carolina (Media & Journalism) 
****Alex Dalton, Sr., Notre Dame (Neuroscience & Behavior) 
****Cortney Fortunato, Sr., Notre Dame (Psychology) 
**Casey Pearsall, Sr., Notre Dame (Mgt Consulting, Psychology) 
Samantha Giacolone, So., Notre Dame (Psychology) 
Grace Muller, Sr., Notre Dame (Business) 
Emily Hawryschuk, Fr., Syracuse (Undeclared) 
Neena Merola, Jr., Syracuse (Health & Exercise Science)
Kaeli O’Connor, Sr., Syracuse (Biology)
Devon Parker, Sr., Syracuse (Television, Radio, Film) 
Cara Quimby, R-F., Syracuse (Health & Exercise Science) 
Natalie Wallon, So., Syracuse (Public Relations) 
Sammy Mueller, Fr., Virginia (undeclared) 
**Maggie Preas, Sr., Virginia (Spanish) 
Kelly Reese, Sr., Virginia (History) 
***Rachel Vander Kolk, Jr., Virginia (Aerospace Engineering) 
Mary Claire Bryne, R-So., Virginia Tech (Public Relations) 
Kristine Loscalzo, Sr., Virginia Tech (Public Relations) 
Tristan McGinley, Jr., Virginia Tech (Human Development) 
Maddy Wollmuth, Sr., Virginia Tech (Marketing)
Marissa Davey, Jr., Virginia Tech (Chemical Engineering)
Kelly Glatthorn, Jr., Virginia Tech (Political Science)

(# of *s denote years named to the All-ACC Academic Women’s Lacrosse Team)