North Carolina’s Hayley Carter Highlights 2016 All-ACC Women’s Tennis Team

Clemson's Broomfield Named Freshman of the Year; Georgia Tech's Harmon Named Coach of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( - North Carolina's Hayley Carter has been selected as the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Tennis Player of the Year and headlines the 2016 All-ACC Team announced on Thursday.

Clemson's Ayan Broomfield was named the top freshman in the conference, taking home ACC Freshman of the Year, and Georgia Tech's Rodney Harmon was selected as Coach of the Year.

The All-ACC team and individual season honors were selected by a vote of the league’s 15 head coaches.

A junior from Hilton Head, South Carolina, Carter is the third consecutive Tar Heel to earn ACC Player of the Year honors, and the fourth overall. A North Carolina student-athlete has won the award each of the last four years; Gina Suarez-Malaguti was named ACC player of the Year in 2013, and Jamie Loeb received the honor in 2014 and 2015. Carter was also named ACC Freshman of the year in 2014, and has been an ITA All-American, as well as an All-ACC First Team selection, each of her three years at North Carolina. UNC’s Cinda Gurney was voted ACC Player of the Year three straight seasons from 1991-93.

Broomfield, hailing from Toronto, Canada, is only the second Clemson student-athlete to be named ACC Freshman of the Year. She is currently ranked No. 50 in the ITA rankings, and has a 12-8 record in singles, including five wins over ranked opponents.

Harmon, who is in his fourth year as the head coach of the Yellow Jackets, has led Georgia Tech to a 16-7 record, including an 11-3 record in ACC play. He is the second Yellow Jackets head coach to be named Coach of the Year and has guided Georgia Tech to the NCAA Tournament every season he's been at the helm.

Thirteen institutions are represented on the All-ACC team, with Duke's five selections leading all schools. Miami and North Carolina each had three honorees, while Boston College, Clemson, Georgia Tech, Notre Dame, Virginia and Virginia Tech each had two student-athletes voted All-ACC. Florida State, NC State, Syracuse and Wake Forest each had one All-ACC selection.

Duke's Beatrice Capra, Florida State's Daneika Borthwick, Miami's Stephanie Wagner and Virginia's Julia Elbaba were named All-ACC for the fourth time in their careers. Carter, along with Danielle Collins of Virginia and Francesca Fusinato of Virginia Tech, picked up their third All-ACC honors, while an additional eight student-athletes received the honor for the second time in their careers.

Individual Award Winners
Player of the Year – Hayley Carter, Jr., North Carolina
Freshman of the Year – Ayan Broomfield, Clemson
Coach of the Year – Rodney Harmon, Georgia Tech

All-ACC First Team
Hayley Carter # Jr. North Carolina
Stephanie Wagner ! Sr. Miami
Sinead Lohan @ So. Miami
Danielle Collins # Sr. Virginia
Julia Elbaba ! Sr. Virginia
Johnnise Renaud @ So. Georgia Tech
Daneika Borthwick ! Sr. Florida State
Beatrice Capra ! Sr. Duke
Whitney Kay Sr. North Carolina

All-ACC Second Team
Ayan Broomfield Fr. Clemson
Joana Eidukonyte @ Sr. Clemson
Francesca Fusinato # Jr. Virginia Tech
Martina Frantova Jr. NC State
Chalena Scholl Jr. Duke
Quinn Gleason @ Sr. Notre Dame
Kaitlyn McCarthy Fr. Duke
Kimmy Guerin @ Jr. Wake Forest
Anna Shkudun Gr. Syracuse

All-ACC Third Team
Samantha Harris @ So. Duke
Jessie Aney Fr. North Carolina
Asiya Dair @ So. Boston College
Lexi Borr Jr. Boston College
Brooke Broda So. Notre Dame
Paige Hourigan @ So. Georgia Tech
Elena Cerezo-Codina So. Virginia Tech
Ellyse Hamlin Fr. Duke
Wendy Zhang So. Miami

@ - Two-time honoree
# - Three-time honoree
! – Four-time honoree